Go Back   AstinaGT Forums > Performance & Technical > Forced Induction & Engine Conversions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 22-07-2010, 12:37 PM   #101
S373N
Senior Member
 
S373N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Launceston, Tasmania
Car: 1991 Mazda 323 Astina GTX Conversion (Currently M.I.A)
Posts: 618
Send a message via ICQ to S373N Send a message via AIM to S373N Send a message via MSN to S373N Send a message via Yahoo to S373N
Yeh we have repco autobahn supercheap bursons. I'm sure I can find one!

I'm assuming tacety's astina I'm buying was originally NOT an sp model so I'll be salvaging what I can that's in good order.
I can't say I'd need new hoses and such for a while cause it obviously had been converted not too long ago so I'll just use what's there then replace a month or so down the track.

Last edited by S373N; 22-07-2010 at 01:01 PM.
S373N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2010, 03:46 PM   #102
mkid
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Wollongong, NSW, australia
Car: BK 3 SP23
Posts: 840
Send a message via MSN to mkid
i would assume that he has kept it in good order as there quite expensive
engines to get hold of
but you should go thru it and replace any worn or persithed parts (hoses and seals etc)
most BG turbos are non SP's but converted over leaving out the sun roof

Last edited by mkid; 21-07-2011 at 08:27 AM.
mkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2010, 11:25 PM   #103
70NYD
Veni, vidi, vici
 
70NYD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Brisbane
Car: 1996 BA Hatch & 2005 RX8
Posts: 4,911
i think you would be after the radiator cap for a familia (i think the caps are 1.3Bar, or u can just get a 1.3bar cap straight up, around $20 )
__________________
70NYD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2011, 08:10 PM   #104
Clean_Cookie
obsessed-incomplete-broke
 
Clean_Cookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Brisbane
Car: BA Hardtop/Hatch
Posts: 5,441
draggin up an old thread but i havent found (yet!) the differences (if any) to a BP, BPT or B6T. all are 1.8ltr obviously with and without turbos but are the mounting points the same on all engines and will the GTX/GTR/BPT (whatever you want to call it) ECU work with the so called b6t? i.e. theres a b6t motor+gearbox on ebay which came out of a FWD supposedly, with wiring loom... here:http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Mazda-323...item33699ce74c

and it looks the same as my BP from a BG -which bolted in fine.



just looking at the options and if i do go turbo, id buy a suitable ecu which these worked with stock, replace the wiring loom and find a stock turbo/dump pipe, make it all legal and call it a day...

but so confused as to what needs to be done - how does putting a different ECU into the car + wiring harness work- does it replace my stock BP one and i have to rewire all the stock electrics to suit or does it only run the engine side of things in a piggyback arrangement. i understand the only way to register these things/get a mod plate is to use the stock ECU to comply with emissions stuff...


hope someone can help clear this up! looked on fordlaser and theres even more info which i dont really understand!
__________________
Worklog
Clean_Cookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2011, 08:16 PM   #105
Rupewrecht
Administrator
 
Rupewrecht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: melb.vic.au
Car: AZ-1, Astina Hardtop Turbo, BJ Protege, Beetle
Posts: 16,510
B6T is a 1600/1.6, not a 1840cc/1.8.

Smaller block size, i think. So different mounts.
__________________

jdmparts.rupewrecht.com
Sourcing your not-quite-overnight parts from Japan

WRECHT--|--SLOWTEGE--|--BEETLE--|--SUBSTITUTE--|--AZ-1


Rupewrecht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2011, 08:17 PM   #106
Clean_Cookie
obsessed-incomplete-broke
 
Clean_Cookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Brisbane
Car: BA Hardtop/Hatch
Posts: 5,441
oh. that sucks! thanks rupe! i thought the b6 was a 1.6 soch though which made me assume that perhaps the doch pic i saw was a 1.8.. poo.
__________________
Worklog
Clean_Cookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2011, 08:30 PM   #107
Rupewrecht
Administrator
 
Rupewrecht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: melb.vic.au
Car: AZ-1, Astina Hardtop Turbo, BJ Protege, Beetle
Posts: 16,510
There is a B6 SOHC and a B6 DOHC, just like the B8/BP SOHC and BP DOHC
__________________

jdmparts.rupewrecht.com
Sourcing your not-quite-overnight parts from Japan

WRECHT--|--SLOWTEGE--|--BEETLE--|--SUBSTITUTE--|--AZ-1


Rupewrecht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2011, 04:36 PM   #108
mikey_something
Senior Member
 
mikey_something's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NSW
Car: 1998 Toyota Supra 3.0L Twin Turbo
Posts: 1,413
ive read all this a few times and have just a few little questions.
if i buy a front cut i understand i get everything i need.
if i buy an engine + loom + sensors + ecu...
what am i missing out on?
Fuse box? anything else?
what stops me using my existing fuse box?
cheers
mikey_something is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 06:18 PM   #109
Clean_Cookie
obsessed-incomplete-broke
 
Clean_Cookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Brisbane
Car: BA Hardtop/Hatch
Posts: 5,441
why not put it in here... heres what I've collated. this is the LONG TEDIOUS way of doing it. there are MUCH SMARTER ways. But. this is the free, pracitically fool-proof way of doing it. If you want it done in a few hours, hire an auto sparkie. Spent about an hour drawing/writing this up and an entire day tracing wiring/undoing tape! If wiring gives you a headache stop here...
this is for series 3. well mine was like this. it wouldnt suprise me to see differences in it through the series...

BP Series 3 BA engine loom connections.
2x ECU green plugs
1x interior loom plug



Below is the copy of the above pinout. Grey is blank pins, the first colour from the left is the main wire colour. The colour to the right is the stripe colour. 8+10 I noted with silver bands, but they join further along anyway.



Where they go:

ECU –S refers to the smaller (physically) plug which plugs into the ECU. L refers to the larger one. Note there is only two plugs in series 3 wiring. I stuffed up and missed what should have been number 6 plug on the top, which is called 15. Sorry, I aint changing my labelling on the physical loom. I suggest swapping it if you do use this to save confusion.

1. Temp sensor
2. ECU – L
3. ECU –S
4. ECU –S
5. Spliced with two white cables, one from Diag Box the other from the Dizzy
6. ECU –S
7. Dizzy
8. ECU –S
9. ECU –S
10. Spliced with number 8
11. ECU-S
12. Diag Box
13. Spliced with two Brown with Black stripe, one to ECU –S and the other to gearbox (black plug)
14. Gearbox (front sensor, with white plug)
15. ECU-S



I couldn't be bothered right now to do up a drawing showing the pinouts/colours for the BG loom, but theres TONNES more info on that (Plus wiring manuals) on ford-laser. if anyone can get this more accurate that would be handy. or have ECU pinouts for the two ECU's. having this would have made life ALOT easier for myself
BPT Loom – Black plug

1. Black – Main ground to connection box near Diag box.
2. Green + black – To small ECU-S
3. Empty
4. Empty
5. Empty
6. White – to Diag box
7. Empty
8. Empty
9. Red + green – To plug which broke off (white, looks similar to the gearbox plug with two connections)
10. Yellow + white – To ECU – S
11. Blue + Black – forgot to write down where it went...
12. Empty
13. Green + red – Spliced. To Ignitor and Coil
14. Empty
15. Red + yellow – To ECU – L
16. White + green – To ECU – L
17. Empty
18. Empty
19. Black + red – To ECU – S
20. Black + Yellow – To plug which broke off (number 9)


BPT Loom – White Plug

21. Empty
22. Black + Orange – To injector loom
23. Blue + Red – To ECU – S
24. Empty
25. Green – To ECU – S
26. Empty
27. Empty
28. Orange + Blue – To ECU – S
29. Brown + Yellow – Spliced. One to ECU – S, One to sensor under gearbox?
30. Yellow + Blue (shielded cable) – Spliced, To coil, Ignitor, Diag box. Outside shielding was earthed (Black + Green)
31. Black + Blue – To ECU – S
32. Empty
33. Large Blue – To coil + capacitor/ballast, small black thingo...?
__________________
Worklog
Clean_Cookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 06:30 PM   #110
mikey_something
Senior Member
 
mikey_something's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NSW
Car: 1998 Toyota Supra 3.0L Twin Turbo
Posts: 1,413
fantastic info dude! well done. f*ck you've been busy with this stuff aye! lol
mikey_something is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 06:34 PM   #111
Clean_Cookie
obsessed-incomplete-broke
 
Clean_Cookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Brisbane
Car: BA Hardtop/Hatch
Posts: 5,441
yes...donations accepted

Ive spent 10-20 hours researching/working on the car for over a year. I'm a slow worker, but I know what I want it to look like. Pitty my paid work has dried up so its slow going.



__________________
Worklog
Clean_Cookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 06:35 PM   #112
project.r.racing
Senior Member
 
project.r.racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: n/a
Car: n/a
Posts: 10,921
how does that relate to the ecu pin outs? the post 96 ecu that are 16bit would be very similar to the 16bit ecus used in NB8 MX5s.

NA8 eg same as BG you can run full standalone. NB8, same as post 96 BA you have to run a piggyback system to allow the oem ecu to control certain functions.
project.r.racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 06:43 PM   #113
Clean_Cookie
obsessed-incomplete-broke
 
Clean_Cookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Brisbane
Car: BA Hardtop/Hatch
Posts: 5,441
mines post 96, The pinouts I do not know, I taped each end as I found it, on the ecu but didnt take photos/write down the positions. I will do it eventually, once I have a diagram of it in front of me to cross reference.
__________________
Worklog
Clean_Cookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 06:52 PM   #114
chewyryce
Senior Member
 
chewyryce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Brisbane
Car: NA MX5
Posts: 874
oh that wiring harness looks almost as fun as mine :P. gotta love engine conversions
__________________
MX5 Build
chewyryce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 11:43 AM   #115
himynameisbunny
AstinaGT Regular
 
himynameisbunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Sutherland Shire, Sydney, AUS
Car: 97 Astina BA
Posts: 432
I'm eyeing off a TX3 at the moment, with a full BPD conversion from a GTR. Bloke only lives 10km away from me as well.

Would it be the same story with that as with a Familia half-cut or would the loom already be modified to make things more confusing?
himynameisbunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 11:46 AM   #116
SLY 323
Senior Member
 
SLY 323's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Wollongong
Car: 95' Mazda BA 323
Posts: 747
Loom would be modified to suit tx3.
__________________
Too many Mazdas. ♡
SLY 323 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 11:47 AM   #117
Clean_Cookie
obsessed-incomplete-broke
 
Clean_Cookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Brisbane
Car: BA Hardtop/Hatch
Posts: 5,441
virtually the same engine wiring, different AFM, injectors, turbo and ecu. would you look at transplanting into your current car? check the regulations in NSW first. they are anal about swaps, esp after 96 model cars.
__________________
Worklog
Clean_Cookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 12:05 PM   #118
himynameisbunny
AstinaGT Regular
 
himynameisbunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Sutherland Shire, Sydney, AUS
Car: 97 Astina BA
Posts: 432
Quote:
Originally Posted by SLY 323 View Post
Loom would be modified to suit tx3.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clean_Cookie View Post
virtually the same engine wiring, different AFM, injectors, turbo and ecu. would you look at transplanting into your current car? check the regulations in NSW first. they are anal about swaps, esp after 96 model cars.
I would like to, if I had enough help, patience and time. All are mighty hard for me to find these days! But one can dream
himynameisbunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2015, 06:20 AM   #119
luki_92_92
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Poland
Car: 323F BA 98' 1.5 postlift
Posts: 1
Could anybody help me with ecu pinout (ecu Z5B3) or wiring diagram for this? I have the same connectors like this



but unfortunatelly wiring colours aren't the same :/
luki_92_92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Body Conversion 101 for the 1998 Mazda 323 BJ models TStar Bodykits & Exterior 0 11-03-2006 06:46 PM
Manual Conversion, is it worth it? PhatAstina Performance & General Maintenance 68 23-02-2006 09:15 PM
Need help from guys who have the BPT into BA conversion scollinguk Interior & Electrics 10 10-06-2004 01:30 PM
GTX conversion navysky51 Performance & General Maintenance 6 08-04-2004 03:38 PM
Costs for a BPT in BG conversion? kemicalx Performance & General Maintenance 7 19-02-2004 02:24 PM


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 09:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
2001- 2010 AstinaGT