Go Back   AstinaGT Forums > Performance & Technical > Forced Induction & Engine Conversions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 24-08-2003, 04:00 PM   #1
Mr MX6
Junior Member
 
Mr MX6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Perth Western Australia
Posts: 87
Send a message via Yahoo to Mr MX6
ABOUT: KFZE-KLDE swap in a BA 323

In Australia we get a 2lt v6 in some 323s (Astana /Potashes) have I believe it to be a KFZE or similar, it has a very different intake to the ZE and the O3 and the K8.
Ok now to the question.. Dose any one know much about this motor..




I put a KLZE into my MX6, and now im fitting the DE into the 323.
What im wondering is if any one knows things like are the fuel pumps up to supplying the 2.5 ?
Should I swap over the manifold from the KFZE (2ltr) to the KLO3 (2.5)? The internal diameter appears to be the same but the make up is quite different, like the VIRS chambers and over all shape/design..
I could ramble on and on, but does any one have any experience with this motor swap?.
Thanks..
__________________
Mazda V6s rock!
Mr MX6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 24-08-2003, 11:09 PM   #2
Mr MX6
Junior Member
 
Mr MX6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Perth Western Australia
Posts: 87
Send a message via Yahoo to Mr MX6
I just had a closer look @ the Astana..
I found the ecu sockets to be the same but different to the mx6 one..

323 ecu


mx6 ecu


There was an extra unused socket on the kf ecu , but the remaining 3 went in perfectly to the o3s ecu, (I hope the pins are the same..)

The problem I think is going to be the VAF/MAF.. Who knows any thing about this?
You see the maf on the 323 has 4 wires just like the VAf setup on the mx6, but they are different colors and have a different plug on the end.. does any one know if all I have to do is splice the o3 s plug onto the other (I have a spare) and if so what is the color code/mach up?



Or do you think im going to have to get a MX6 loom and swap it all over; including the dizzy (the dizzy is different as well)

and yea, it was night time so gi-me a break on the pics.. :lol:
__________________
Mazda V6s rock!
Mr MX6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2003, 08:06 AM   #3
JynX
Senior Member
 
JynX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via ICQ to JynX Send a message via MSN to JynX
I would really try and get your hands on a workshop manual so you can check the pin arrangement on the ecus.

The problem with the KL-ZE in the 323 is the intake runners sit too high from memory so you cant close the bonnet. Using the intake off the std V6 found in the 323 gets you around this problem. There is a chap on here who has a KL-ZE in an astina so you should try and get in contact with him.

In regards to the maf sensor, you will need to check the resistance produced and cross reference it with the old sensor. The workshop manual will tell you which colour goes where in the plug.
JynX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2003, 10:02 AM   #4
Cosmo Dude
コスモ
 
Cosmo Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Location: Vic
Car: Mazda '95 Astina I4, '86 B2K and '10 3 MZR-CD
Posts: 7,882
I've just sent some info.
Hope it helps
__________________
My 'stina Hatch
Cosmo Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2003, 06:32 PM   #5
Mr MX6
Junior Member
 
Mr MX6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Perth Western Australia
Posts: 87
Send a message via Yahoo to Mr MX6
That is fantastic. .I’ll have a look @ the info you sent and see if I can work something out.. You are a legend!..
I’m actually going to use the KLDEs ECU and VAF, so I suspect all I have to sort out is the pin/wire configuration, I all ready have the work shop for the KLDE…
Thanks for all this guys .. any input at all is appreciated.. I’ll try and find the klze guy 2..
Cheers..
__________________
Mazda V6s rock!
Mr MX6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2003, 08:06 PM   #6
Cosmo Dude
コスモ
 
Cosmo Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Location: Vic
Car: Mazda '95 Astina I4, '86 B2K and '10 3 MZR-CD
Posts: 7,882
I'll have a look, hope by 'VAF' you want the airflow sensor.

Page 74, plug B9-15 should do the trick.

Rod
__________________
My 'stina Hatch
Cosmo Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2003, 11:42 PM   #7
Mr MX6
Junior Member
 
Mr MX6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Perth Western Australia
Posts: 87
Send a message via Yahoo to Mr MX6
Sorry yea on the KLDE (MX6) you get a VAF, Volume Air Flowmeter.
And the KFZE is a MAF, Mass Air Flowmeter..
So any thing you have would be gratefully received..
__________________
Mazda V6s rock!
Mr MX6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2003, 09:48 AM   #8
Rupewrecht
Administrator
 
Rupewrecht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: melb.vic.au
Car: AZ-1, Astina Hardtop Turbo, BJ Protege, Beetle
Posts: 16,495
/me whispers "and it's going into a Hardtop!"
__________________

jdmparts.rupewrecht.com
Sourcing your not-quite-overnight parts from Japan

WRECHT--|--SLOWTEGE--|--BEETLE--|--SUBSTITUTE--|--AZ-1


Rupewrecht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2003, 10:43 AM   #9
Mr MX6
Junior Member
 
Mr MX6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Perth Western Australia
Posts: 87
Send a message via Yahoo to Mr MX6
Yip! And it is just a bout in.. In .. ill post some pics when im finished .. should be Sunday..
__________________
Mazda V6s rock!
Mr MX6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2003, 01:09 AM   #10
Mr MX6
Junior Member
 
Mr MX6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Perth Western Australia
Posts: 87
Send a message via Yahoo to Mr MX6
Well its in and running.. But …
It is running weird.. .idles perfect . Goes hard.. But won’t drive “nicely” I have to have a look at it tomorrow . Ive had enough tonight..
But it is good to know the repair on the motor went well .. I think im possibly going to have a major job on my hands with the electrics.. Time will tell..


__________________
Mazda V6s rock!
Mr MX6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2003, 12:28 PM   #11
BigBoyLemonade
The Architect
 
BigBoyLemonade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 1998
Location: Canberra, ACT
Car: AUSDM S6 RX7
Posts: 1,600
Send a message via ICQ to BigBoyLemonade
as in the throttle is jumpy? maybe check the voltages on the Throttle position sensor.
__________________
Tony
Formally known as Lantis and Xedos



Infinite Networks- Creative Web design and powerful online application solutions
BigBoyLemonade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2003, 04:15 PM   #12
Cosmo Dude
コスモ
 
Cosmo Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Location: Vic
Car: Mazda '95 Astina I4, '86 B2K and '10 3 MZR-CD
Posts: 7,882
Well done.

Looks fantastic.

Rod
__________________
My 'stina Hatch
Cosmo Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2003, 06:19 PM   #13
Mr MX6
Junior Member
 
Mr MX6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Perth Western Australia
Posts: 87
Send a message via Yahoo to Mr MX6
Well I ironed out some more of the bugs to day it runs a lot better…
I don’t know if you guys know do the electrics in the astina allow you to manually set the timing.. ?
I’m assuming it is controlled by the ecu ,, but there is no knock sensor in the block.. so how does it know when it has pushed the timing to far..
And if you do set the timing manually is it the same as the mx6 .. do you short the ten and ground and use a timing lamp to set to ten before top dead center?..
It is just that the timing is not even on the markings at the moment and I think that is holding back the power..
When I move the dizzy it doesn’t appear to have any affect on the timing..
__________________
Mazda V6s rock!
Mr MX6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2003, 07:43 PM   #14
JynX
Senior Member
 
JynX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via ICQ to JynX Send a message via MSN to JynX
You would assume it would be the same/similar to the KL-DE?
JynX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2003, 09:13 PM   #15
Mr MX6
Junior Member
 
Mr MX6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Perth Western Australia
Posts: 87
Send a message via Yahoo to Mr MX6
I all ways assumed it was .. but I cant get it to respond to me moving the dizzy.. Weird..
__________________
Mazda V6s rock!
Mr MX6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2003, 07:39 PM   #16
Cosmo Dude
コスモ
 
Cosmo Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Location: Vic
Car: Mazda '95 Astina I4, '86 B2K and '10 3 MZR-CD
Posts: 7,882
Just a quick check,
BA Astina,
KFZE (2.0 litre) out and KL03 (2.5 litre) in
KF43 EMS out and KL36 EMS in
MAF sensor out and VAF in

Hope I'm correct so far

Which loom did you use?
Any other info may help to get the picture clear.

Rod
__________________
My 'stina Hatch
Cosmo Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2003, 07:59 PM   #17
Mr MX6
Junior Member
 
Mr MX6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Perth Western Australia
Posts: 87
Send a message via Yahoo to Mr MX6
The maf and ECU will not just plug in mate.. that is the problem I had…
Ok this is essentially what I have done.. I found the task of swapping out the entire loom daunting .. you would have to swap the motor-ECU loom plus the link to the fuse panel and Speedo and cpu .. I am using the complete set up from the original kf.. you see my main concern was the amount of fuel needed to operate the 2.5 over the 2.0 when I discovered that wasn’t much to do with the ECU but the size/flow rate of the injector.. so as long as you swap the manifold/injectors over you can just use the wiring loom and MAF from the astina..
The only issue I have now is the VIRS points are completely wrong for the 2.5. But I do know of a little gizmo that is a stand alone unit to control the virs solenoids..
have a look
http://rpmtuners.com/vrtuner.html
__________________
Mazda V6s rock!
Mr MX6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2003, 08:59 PM   #18
Sandyman
Senior Member
 
Sandyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 879
Send a message via MSN to Sandyman
jesus. i woulda thought there'd be a little more hype about the engine swap here. We've been talking about it for months, and now when somebody's finally doing it, we lack energy? liven up people!

well, mx, i'm happy for you. great to hear somebody actually did it. i mean, people just talk about it for months, but never get around to doing it. It's great to hear somebody actually did it. i hope you fix all the funny bits and it all goes well. btw, did you do much to the exhaust the exhaust?
__________________
Vulnerant omnes, ultima necat.
All of them wound, the last one kills.
Sandyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2003, 09:24 PM   #19
Mr MX6
Junior Member
 
Mr MX6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Perth Western Australia
Posts: 87
Send a message via Yahoo to Mr MX6
Thanks for that mate .. :tup:

I just decided to do it last week an now it is in a running. .lol..
I suppose that added to the lack of hysteria generated..



My God this thing goes well.. I'm thnking I'll get my self one of the gizmos to make the VIRS to work when i want it to..
apart from that im happy... :P

I just used the Astana exhaust .. I some how managed to knock out the inside of the cat out.. .. .:lol: i will get some headers and all that eventualy.
__________________
Mazda V6s rock!
Mr MX6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2003, 09:28 AM   #20
BigMal
1ST BA TURBO MEMBER
 
BigMal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Sydney
Car: BA Astina Turbo
Posts: 4,195
Send a message via ICQ to BigMal Send a message via MSN to BigMal
Hey mate,
Two thumbs up about the conversion. Thats awesome you have it working.
1 question thou. Have been involved in a discussion about the use of a
MAF on a VAF ECU as the wiring looks almost identical. Any thoughts or
experiences you can share on transplanting one.

Ta

Mal
p.s Well done again.
__________________
If you want wind in your hair add a Hairdryer !!!
BigMal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Swapping KLZE throttle Body into KFZE kfze Performance & General Maintenance 30 10-04-2006 03:28 PM
workshop manual for 94 v6 astina Astina scott Performance & General Maintenance 11 28-12-2005 08:42 AM
FS or Swap: [NSW] N13 Exa exa70c For Sale/Wanted 0 17-01-2005 09:31 PM
Buying a 323 silver6 General Automotive Talk 0 05-09-2004 08:54 PM
HI from another newbie 323 owner Lunchbox#bg General Automotive Talk 11 29-08-2004 02:37 PM


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 04:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
2001- 2010 AstinaGT