Go Back   AstinaGT Forums > Performance & Technical > Audio Hi-fi

Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 17-09-2008, 01:23 PM   #1
Senior Member
mussing's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Sydney
Car: 1990 323 Astina BG SP
Posts: 1,071
Replacing radio antenna

Hi all, how hard is it to replace the stock antenna on a bg? Mine's stuck out at full extension, so my car resembles an oversized RC toy. I'll be placing an order for a bunch of audio stuff and sound deadening with electus (the wholesaler who supplies jaycar) soon, so I figure I might as well get a new antenna too...
mussing is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 19-09-2008, 08:35 AM   #2
Junior Member
PJS-323's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Tuross Head, N.S.W/Canberra
Car: '91 Nissan Pintara (whilst awaiting the BA)
Posts: 27
Send a message via MSN to PJS-323
can you hear the motor going? if so you may only need to replace the rope (the actual aerial bit) which isn't hard.

but to replace the whole thing is pretty easy (keep in mind this isn't astina specific its how you change aerials in general so some things may be different).

first need to get to the antenna behind the trim in your boot. then on top there the black thing that surrounds the antenna and covers the hole should unscrew (you may need pliers or vice grips to get this off). then got to the motor and unplug everything aerial lead, power/memory wires, drain tube (if it has one). then unscrew mounting bracket (or how ever it is held in). then just mount the new aerial in and connect everything up. with the power/memory wires if you get them around the wrong way the antenna will go up but not down.

hope this helps its probably different on the astina but they are simple im sure you can figure it out.
PJS-323 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2008, 01:07 PM   #3
Junior Member
womble's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: South Australia
Car: BG Astina
Posts: 186
No electric aerial in a bg that I'm aware of.

You will need to find where it goes up the pillar under the footwell and attach a draw wire to it. Unscrew the aerial from the roof and pull it out as it comes out it will pull up the draw wire with it. Putting a new one in is just a case of attaching the new coax to the draw wire and pulling back down and then plugging it all back together. Try and use some small rope something with a bit of strength as your draw wire or it will suck big time if it snaps. Hope this helps
womble is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +10. The time now is 10:15 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
2001- 2010 AstinaGT