Go Back   AstinaGT Forums > Performance & Technical > Forced Induction & Engine Conversions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 20-10-2003, 05:24 PM   #1
obzelite
Junior Member
 
obzelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 19
Send a message via ICQ to obzelite
ABOUT: BPT into '97 Astina (BA)

OK, just found this place and figured it should be the perfect place to ask this question.
Brother and i both have ba astina's, both have been drivin quite hard and both have suffered from air box/filter conversions that involved unfiltered air getting into the motor. Naturally both motors have expired.
Sitting in my back yard since friday are two bpt front cuts, the first attempt is going to be this weekend, and i was hoping someone who attempted this conversion before had any hints.
The air flow meters are completly different and so is the dizzy and fuse block, as far as everything else goes it all looks similar.
The info i really need is about the ecu, i'm presuming the dash and similar electronics run from the current ecu, will the front cut ecu run these the same, or will i need to mesh the two together.

I put a 4agze in a corolla and converted the whole dash and loom over, but had some real problems with smaller stuff like fuel gauge, wipers and rear lights so a heads up to potential headaches in this conversion would be great.
obzelite is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 20-10-2003, 07:38 PM   #2
JynX
Senior Member
 
JynX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via ICQ to JynX Send a message via MSN to JynX
The guys running the BPTs are generally using the Jap Spec GTX ECU. Assuming you have the wiring harness (which you should with ur halfcut) everything should transfer over and run with the ecu in the halfcut. We have a TX3 BPT manual handy if you run into trouble.

Tony will be the best person to comment having done a garage conversion himself.
JynX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2003, 10:14 PM   #3
BigBoyLemonade
The Architect
 
BigBoyLemonade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 1998
Location: Canberra, ACT
Car: AUSDM S6 RX7
Posts: 1,600
Send a message via ICQ to BigBoyLemonade
You have to combine the two looms together...

Two ways. use the existing BA loom or use the GTX loom and intergrate it into the BA loom


I intergrated the GTX loom into the BA loom.
I cut the GTX fuse box off and join it to the existing BA fuse box.
Then ran the full GTX loom into car and joined the dash and other wires up.
The biggest problem I had was faulty relays in the GTX loom due to water damage from import yard.

There were so many things but just plan what you wanna do first so you dont cut unnecessary things.

Ask any questions in this topic and I can answer for you and also a guide for other ppl that might want to attempt the conversion. Its not that hard. Just work out what you want to do first.
__________________
Tony
Formally known as Lantis and Xedos



Infinite Networks- Creative Web design and powerful online application solutions
BigBoyLemonade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-10-2003, 02:40 PM   #4
obzelite
Junior Member
 
obzelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 19
Send a message via ICQ to obzelite
The ecus and everthing is in the front cut, and most things look the same.
The fuse box is a lot smaller on the front cuts, and has the coil sitting right next to it, one thing the ba bp dosent have.
attached to side of the air flow meter is what appears to be a solonoid, both front cuts that are here have one of the pipes just hanging off and there is nothing within reach for them to connect to, so i have to figure if thats something i can just get rid of.
its been a while since i had the ba dash apart, but from what i remember when i installed the stereo there was two ecu type boxes sitting under the stereo, the front cuts both only have one. i'm sure it will be easy to figure out what one is for engine management and what the other one may be used for.
did you use the front cut dizzy and coil or did u use the ba intergrated one?

do you have any photos of you car hosted anywhere, looks pretty trick.
I'm intending to do fit a water to air intercooler as the car will prob seen a few autokhana/motorkhana style events, on hot tarmac in first and second gear i dont see an air to air doing a very good job.
in zoom mag the xr6 project is getting a 0.5 psi drop across a tiny intercooler that has just been encased to convert it to water to air, so i figured that was the way to go.

if i run into troubles i'll definatly be asking some questions.
one more thing, how long did it take for you to get the car running?

simon
__________________
Simon
www.colberne.com
obzelite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-10-2003, 03:20 PM   #5
Dogo
Senior Member
 
Dogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Melb, Aus
Car: Mazda 323 BA BPT transplant
Posts: 3,458
BA has one ecu under the stereo from what i remember. the other metal box is for the centre speaker.
__________________
[ Turbo BA ]
see my readers ride
Dogo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-10-2003, 03:24 PM   #6
JynX
Senior Member
 
JynX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via ICQ to JynX Send a message via MSN to JynX
Quote:
Originally Posted by obzelite
attached to side of the air flow meter is what appears to be a solonoid, both front cuts that are here have one of the pipes just hanging off and there is nothing within reach for them to connect to, so i have to figure if thats something i can just get rid of.
IIRC from TX3 manual, this is the wastegate solenoid. Ill have a squiz in the manual when i get home.
JynX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-10-2003, 11:19 PM   #7
BigMal
1ST BA TURBO MEMBER
 
BigMal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Sydney
Car: BA Astina Turbo
Posts: 4,195
Send a message via ICQ to BigMal Send a message via MSN to BigMal
Yeah whens my Manual coming home Jimbo ???
Obzelite love to Avatar !!! Been there once its a wild
experience. make sure you keep the GTX alternator
the Astina one wont bolt up to the GTX block.

regards

Mal
__________________
If you want wind in your hair add a Hairdryer !!!
BigMal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2003, 08:07 AM   #8
JynX
Senior Member
 
JynX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via ICQ to JynX Send a message via MSN to JynX
When you need it!
JynX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-2003, 02:50 PM   #9
obzelite
Junior Member
 
obzelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 19
Send a message via ICQ to obzelite
ok, the flywheel clutch and pressure plate are different.
Was going to just bolt the gearbox up, but the bpt has a larger pressure plate and it wont fit inside the bellhousing. My clutch was close to toasted so now a new one has to be ordered.
Can anyone confirm they had to swap all that stuff over?

wiring looks to be a fun few days, just trying to seperate the all the wires from the motor from the other stuff that goes direct to the dash.
Looks like some factory worker was going for insulation tape user of the month award as i have a mountain of the stuff i removed.
__________________
Simon
www.colberne.com
obzelite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-2003, 03:18 PM   #10
BigBoyLemonade
The Architect
 
BigBoyLemonade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 1998
Location: Canberra, ACT
Car: AUSDM S6 RX7
Posts: 1,600
Send a message via ICQ to BigBoyLemonade
You have to use the NA flywheel, clutch plate and pressure plate on the turbo motor so the gearbox will fit up.

The BPT flywheel and clutch are made to run on a different gearbox
__________________
Tony
Formally known as Lantis and Xedos



Infinite Networks- Creative Web design and powerful online application solutions
BigBoyLemonade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-2003, 08:13 PM   #11
BigMal
1ST BA TURBO MEMBER
 
BigMal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Sydney
Car: BA Astina Turbo
Posts: 4,195
Send a message via ICQ to BigMal Send a message via MSN to BigMal
Obzelite,
That solenoid on the AFM is for the factory boost switch for
low boost under 5500 and up to 11psi after 5500. Most people
with GTX/TX3's bypass it I know with my setup its not connected
at all and is all ok. Only other wiring thing is the Pin M which needs
to be cut otherwise the motor wont rev passed 5500.

regards

Mal
__________________
If you want wind in your hair add a Hairdryer !!!
BigMal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2003, 01:11 PM   #12
obzelite
Junior Member
 
obzelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 19
Send a message via ICQ to obzelite
Thanks for the help guys, got those problems sorted now.

Is there a wiring diagram available from anywhere so i dont have to make so many guesses.

Thanks again
__________________
Simon
www.colberne.com
obzelite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 03:07 PM   #13
obzelite
Junior Member
 
obzelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 19
Send a message via ICQ to obzelite
its old news now, but both cars are running.
Brother has destroyed one gearbox, and now has some issue with the motor appearing to move making some clunking noises.
My stock turbo has decided to eat itself and turn my car is a smoke machine.
I'm guessing the bearing ceased or something drastic as the shaft has some massive amount of movement when i pulled it.
Now in the process of fitting a t04/03e to it.

Brothers car is way faster than mine, i think my turbo was stuffed from the start, and has no issues keeping the hoards of skylines and silvias over here honest, putting a few to shame as well.
__________________
Simon
www.colberne.com
obzelite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2007, 10:20 AM   #14
BigMal
1ST BA TURBO MEMBER
 
BigMal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Sydney
Car: BA Astina Turbo
Posts: 4,195
Send a message via ICQ to BigMal Send a message via MSN to BigMal
Good to hear.. Also its never ending there is always something that needs
replacing to make/keep them go hard. Waiting to hear how the T04 goes.
__________________
If you want wind in your hair add a Hairdryer !!!
BigMal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2007, 07:22 PM   #15
gtxlantis
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: hamilto new zealand
Car: gtx mazda lantis 434bhp 1st tune
Posts: 1
hey man just to let u know u help me out alot got a fair amount of power 423bhp fresh rebuild with forged pistons race bearing 272degre race cams and a link with a huge hair dryer to name a few just having major traction probs as cant find coil overs over hear ha ha will post u sum pics o yea it in a 96 ba lantis
gtxlantis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-2007, 09:28 PM   #16
BigMal
1ST BA TURBO MEMBER
 
BigMal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Sydney
Car: BA Astina Turbo
Posts: 4,195
Send a message via ICQ to BigMal Send a message via MSN to BigMal
Thats huge mate. Would love to hear the parts list you used to get that HP. Over here the coilovers for a Ford Liata fit you could probably get some sent over. Cant wait for the pics.
__________________
If you want wind in your hair add a Hairdryer !!!
BigMal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2007, 07:11 AM   #17
project.r.racing
Senior Member
 
project.r.racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: n/a
Car: n/a
Posts: 10,921
In New Zealand D2, G4, K-Sport are all available for 95-98 Mazda 323 Astina FWD. People have already brought them in NZ...

Mal - 313kW, how long will the f series gearbox last?
project.r.racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2007, 11:27 PM   #18
BigMal
1ST BA TURBO MEMBER
 
BigMal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Sydney
Car: BA Astina Turbo
Posts: 4,195
Send a message via ICQ to BigMal Send a message via MSN to BigMal
It's a catching eggshells question. Not how many times you throw it its how you
catch it thats the issue. 3rd gear and 5th gear you need to baby. 1st F-series
lasted me 3 months and 4th one lasted me a year. Difference was driving style
with the application of the right foot. I have never looked back from changing to
a G-series box...
__________________
If you want wind in your hair add a Hairdryer !!!
BigMal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-08-2007, 06:40 AM   #19
BigBoyLemonade
The Architect
 
BigBoyLemonade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 1998
Location: Canberra, ACT
Car: AUSDM S6 RX7
Posts: 1,600
Send a message via ICQ to BigBoyLemonade
F series makes baby Jesus cry...

Even then I was breaking a G series every 6months...
__________________
Tony
Formally known as Lantis and Xedos



Infinite Networks- Creative Web design and powerful online application solutions
BigBoyLemonade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2009, 09:00 PM   #20
maztech
Senior Member
 
maztech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: QLD
Car: ......
Posts: 952
Has anyone in Qld done this mod?
maztech is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ABOUT: Astina Clutch Sizes JynX Performance & General Maintenance 30 28-04-2014 07:12 PM
What kind of Astina is mine? Rupewrecht Mazda Specific Talk 77 18-04-2010 01:55 AM
SOLD: [QLD] 92 Astina SP /w BPT conversion Ian For Sale/Wanted 25 16-10-2006 06:01 PM
BPT conversion into a 97 astina JYE12C Forced Induction & Engine Conversions 4 02-08-2004 02:35 PM


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 03:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
2001- 2010 AstinaGT