Go Back   AstinaGT Forums > Performance & Technical > Forced Induction & Engine Conversions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 25-07-2016, 06:53 PM   #1
Dr Fil
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Brisbane
Car: 323 Bj
Posts: 9
Exclamation Help with starting after engine swap 1.6L zm-dw new engine from ford laser

zm-de .....Wops
Ok so heres what ive done so far ....Its late now and I dont have time to do anymore till the morning....Same engine from what I can tell.Wiring is 100% the same....So ive swapped it all over I know the belts right ive triple checked it ....I took off a plug and looked even to check again cuz paranoia...Its not giving any sign of life.....Its spinning away...... First thing im gona do is fiddle with the Cam sensor in the morning.. The clutch is not hooked up...all the electricals are....the exhaust isnt on past where the engine stops underneath ...Shouldn't matter right? besides noise.....Um mm Theres not a continual spark theres one initial spark then thats it So my guess is that the computers killing it off for some reason.

All electrical hooked up.....Starter motor and alternator all on....

Anyone have any ideas? besides getting a computer code because thats what ill do after Im a uni student and pay day is 2 weeks away .

If you want any more details please ask..,...The engine was running in the yard before it was ripped out....I changed the belt(making sure it lined up )I did the water pump I put in a new clutch...This is a massive job man I hope I dont have to get a computer check and If I do id rather buy one so I can do it myself in the future....

Anyone have any ideas? should I put everything completely back together?Is the computer picking up something? why only one initial spark? the fuels about 1 month old mixed with a few liters of fresh and its definetly spitting out up top.....I doubt its the fuel it hasnt been 6 months ...

Im starting to get that bad feeling when its not starting and one has spent days of work on it
Dr Fil is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 26-07-2016, 12:32 AM   #2
MadazInBris
AstinaGT Regular
 
MadazInBris's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Brisbane
Car: '96 Astina, '90 BG, '91BG, 92 SP BG & a partridge in a pear tree..
Posts: 296
2 old school things - Make sure the earth strap/straps are on..
Pull off a spark plug lead & with the help of a screw driver will a spark jump to earth ?
__________________
Speed is subjective to only how far you keep your right foot down..
MadazInBris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2016, 07:01 AM   #3
vkrules
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: brisbane
Car: 2003 sp-20 (safety vest yellow)
Posts: 23
So the exhaust is off . What about the o2 sensor? Not sure if that will stop ignition completely if off though. Stating the obvious, but go back and check you have all the sensors hooked up.
vkrules is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2016, 08:45 AM   #4
Dr Fil
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Brisbane
Car: 323 Bj
Posts: 9
Update

Yeah the exhaust sensor is hooked up for sure it shouldn't make a difference itl just be loud as hell underneath...Im gonna buy a new cam sensor and try it this afternoon I read somewhere that a bad cam sensor can cut off the sparks.....like I said i get 1 spark and then it stops its not a continual spark....and all the earths are definitely on....theres one massive one on the left for the engine that hooks up to the left engine mount and one on the right thats from the main wiring harness and its hooked up with the bolts for the gearbox/engine....all the wiring rechecked and its legit....If its not the cam sensor I swear its a ghost....ripping my hair out here guys

http://imgur.com/gallery/4qYiX

http://imgur.com/a/gZbCa

This aint mine but its the same engine showing how to line up this engine...can verify its how it was when I took it off

http://imgur.com/a/XvyF9

Last edited by Dr Fil; 26-07-2016 at 08:53 AM.
Dr Fil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2016, 02:48 PM   #5
MadazInBris
AstinaGT Regular
 
MadazInBris's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Brisbane
Car: '96 Astina, '90 BG, '91BG, 92 SP BG & a partridge in a pear tree..
Posts: 296
Just on the off chance it's NOT the EXACT same motor it would need a different ECU..
If possible ring the wrecker up to find out the MONTH & year / Model Mazda it came from !
__________________
Speed is subjective to only how far you keep your right foot down..
MadazInBris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2016, 04:43 PM   #6
BrownDog
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Beachmere
Car: 1997 BA "The Red Baron"
Posts: 704
if its from the same model Laser as your 323 and same motor the ECU should work

check the cam sensor, the crank sensor and the ignition coils
o2 sensor wont make a differnce

if you got a friend with and OBDII scan tool have him come round and check it
__________________

The Red Baron

Roses are Red
Violets are Blue
My Madza 323 Goes...
SSSSSSSSTUUTUUTUU
BrownDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2016, 06:32 PM   #7
Dr Fil
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Brisbane
Car: 323 Bj
Posts: 9
got a diagnostics port near the battery I think thats about it...2001 model
Dr Fil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2016, 11:28 PM   #8
Cosmo Dude
コスモ
 
Cosmo Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Location: Vic
Car: Mazda '95 Astina I4, '86 B2K and '10 3 MZR-CD
Posts: 7,883
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrownDog View Post
if you got a friend with and OBDII scan tool have him come round and check it
SP20 is the only AUDM BJ with an OBD connector AFAIK.
They were not mandatory here until 2008.
__________________
My 'stina Hatch
Cosmo Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-07-2016, 10:23 AM   #9
vkrules
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: brisbane
Car: 2003 sp-20 (safety vest yellow)
Posts: 23
"new engine from ford laser"

Hold the phone !

I'm fairly sure the laser uses a different ECU than the Mazda.
Thats what ford told me a few years back anyway! Think I also read it on this forum somewhere to! You better check.
vkrules is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-07-2016, 04:15 PM   #10
MadazInBris
AstinaGT Regular
 
MadazInBris's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Brisbane
Car: '96 Astina, '90 BG, '91BG, 92 SP BG & a partridge in a pear tree..
Posts: 296
Quote:
Just on the off chance it's NOT the EXACT same motor it would need a different ECU..
Where's a laughing emoticon when ya need one ?
__________________
Speed is subjective to only how far you keep your right foot down..
MadazInBris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-07-2016, 06:01 PM   #11
Jazzy
Junior Member
 
Jazzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Australia
Car: BJII SP20 Astina 5spd
Posts: 88
If it's just the engine that is being swapped then I wouldn't think it'd matter if the engine is from a Ford. The engine will bolt in and all the wires in the engine bay should match. The ECU doesn't matter.

You said no spark, so this is probably the culprit. Try swapping the coil packs from the old engine. Never know.
Jazzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2016, 08:07 AM   #12
Dr Fil
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Brisbane
Car: 323 Bj
Posts: 9
Just got off the phone with the old mechanic .apparenly if the harmonic plate is on the wrong way (and hes done that before) the crank sensor gets all messed up.As far as the engine and electronics wise it makes no difference that it came from a ford.....(hes done the exact swap before).Too bad i got uni exams in an hr and I cant bloody flip over the plate till I get home....Sigh all that hair pulling over something so simple.... ill take photos .peace

Last edited by Dr Fil; 28-07-2016 at 08:49 AM.
Dr Fil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2016, 10:52 AM   #13
MadazInBris
AstinaGT Regular
 
MadazInBris's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Brisbane
Car: '96 Astina, '90 BG, '91BG, 92 SP BG & a partridge in a pear tree..
Posts: 296
Quote:
Well I've checked everything 3 times now
Looks like the 4th time's the charm !
__________________
Speed is subjective to only how far you keep your right foot down..
MadazInBris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2016, 05:38 PM   #14
Dr Fil
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Brisbane
Car: 323 Bj
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by MadazInBris View Post
Looks like the 4th time's the charm !
so it was the plate....flipped her over n she started straight up.....pretty loud without an exhaust....

so for the record u can put a ford engine into a Mazda if its a zm-de doesnt matter about the computer everything a straight transfer just take note what side the plate is facing when taking off the pulley on the crank....

all u need are electronics plugged in and shes good to go.Knew I had the timing belt right ...stupid plate son of a bi**h
Dr Fil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2016, 06:28 PM   #15
MadazInBris
AstinaGT Regular
 
MadazInBris's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Brisbane
Car: '96 Astina, '90 BG, '91BG, 92 SP BG & a partridge in a pear tree..
Posts: 296
Good stuff there Phil
Just waiting now for a full "how to" + photos !
__________________
Speed is subjective to only how far you keep your right foot down..
MadazInBris is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 04:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
2001- 2010 AstinaGT