Go Back   AstinaGT Forums > Performance & Technical > Suspension & Wheels

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 19-08-2007, 07:35 PM   #21
Cosmo Dude
コスモ
 
Cosmo Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Location: Vic
Car: Mazda '95 Astina I4, '86 B2K and '10 3 MZR-CD
Posts: 7,888
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rupewrecht View Post
Cable ties fix all
Not on my car, well not on the brakes anyway.
__________________
My 'stina Hatch
Cosmo Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2007, 11:20 AM   #22
Cosmo Dude
コスモ
 
Cosmo Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Location: Vic
Car: Mazda '95 Astina I4, '86 B2K and '10 3 MZR-CD
Posts: 7,888
Well I guarentee 100% that the Subaru brakes don't fit the Astina. They may fit an Mx-6 or Probe but the Astina caliper uses a different mounting method.
__________________
My 'stina Hatch
Cosmo Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-2007, 06:32 AM   #23
boostedbatman
Manpink Crusader
 
boostedbatman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Stafford, Brisbane
Car: 1990 GD mx6 F2T, and soon I might drive the batmoobile once again
Posts: 2,280
Send a message via MSN to boostedbatman
Are they the Legacy 2 piston Rod
Thats a shame
boostedbatman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-2007, 10:59 AM   #24
Cosmo Dude
コスモ
 
Cosmo Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Location: Vic
Car: Mazda '95 Astina I4, '86 B2K and '10 3 MZR-CD
Posts: 7,888
There are apparently only two types of twin pot calipers on Subies and I've tried both. Next month I'll try and get some 626/Mx-6 brackets and see if they will mount to the Astina then I may be able add the Subaru calipers but of course I'll probably need to use the smaller 626/Mx-6 rotors.
The Astina caliper uses two pins that extend into the bracket while the Subaru has one pin mounted in the bracket and the caliper slides on that. The other end of the caliper moves on a barrel that is bolted to the bracket.
__________________
My 'stina Hatch
Cosmo Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2007, 05:52 PM   #25
Cosmo Dude
コスモ
 
Cosmo Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Location: Vic
Car: Mazda '95 Astina I4, '86 B2K and '10 3 MZR-CD
Posts: 7,888
Well I picked up the GE 626 brake calipers today and they came with almost new Lucas brake pads WOO HOO Winner.
I have to change the pins and bolts between the brackets but so far so good, everything appears to align. By the time I've built one caliper it will be the weekend so I can check the fit.
__________________
My 'stina Hatch
Cosmo Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2007, 11:41 AM   #26
Aaron
Stiff Member
 
Aaron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Canberra, ACT
Car: 1994 Lynx BP-T
Posts: 1,198
So the theory goes - Use a GE 626/MX6 caliper bracket to mount a Subaru XXX Twin put caliper (using a combo of Sube and Mazda slides/bolts) and then bolt that to the Astina?

Have I got it right?

A.
__________________
Current:
Stinky the imfamous Lynx
Aaron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2007, 11:59 AM   #27
RedLineResident
Senior Member
 
RedLineResident's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Adelaide
Car: BA V6 Hardtop 5 Speed & 97 Prelude VTIR
Posts: 1,518
V6 Calipers don't have two pistons do they?
__________________

"Amateurs practice until they get it right."
"Professionals practice until they can't get it wrong."
RedLineResident is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2007, 12:59 PM   #28
ROB-80E
Senior Member
 
ROB-80E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: SE QLD, Australia
Car: Turbo BG Astina
Posts: 792
Send a message via ICQ to ROB-80E Send a message via MSN to ROB-80E
No just one big one in a floating point caliper.
__________________
BG Astina + GTR conversion + Microtech ECU + FMIC + 3" pipes and Exhaust x 21psi boost = 12.168 to the power of 326whp
ROB-80E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2007, 01:05 PM   #29
RedLineResident
Senior Member
 
RedLineResident's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Adelaide
Car: BA V6 Hardtop 5 Speed & 97 Prelude VTIR
Posts: 1,518
So really the V6 brakes wouldn't be a great deal more powerful, just better due to larger brake pads.

I thought that was the case. Now V6's are about 70kg heavier (i think i read somewhere) therefore the advantage of the bigger pads is leveld out when you add the extra weight.
__________________

"Amateurs practice until they get it right."
"Professionals practice until they can't get it wrong."
RedLineResident is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2007, 01:24 PM   #30
Cosmo Dude
コスモ
 
Cosmo Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Location: Vic
Car: Mazda '95 Astina I4, '86 B2K and '10 3 MZR-CD
Posts: 7,888
Yes and no.
The V6 rotors are larger then GE 626 rotors and the GE is bigger, heavier and more powerful so the V6 brakes ar much better than the 4 cyl ones. My worry is that the 626/Subie combo may not fit over the larger rotors.
If they don't then I'll jump onto mx6.com and try to recover some cash.
With some luck I should be able to test fit them on the weekend and maybe have them fitted by the months end.

The 626 brakes are also the same as GE Mx-6 and some Ford Probes.
__________________
My 'stina Hatch
Cosmo Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2007, 01:29 PM   #31
RedLineResident
Senior Member
 
RedLineResident's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Adelaide
Car: BA V6 Hardtop 5 Speed & 97 Prelude VTIR
Posts: 1,518
So are the astina rotors bigger than the 626 / mx6 rotors.

thats what i gathered from that post. I could be way way off ofcorse.
__________________

"Amateurs practice until they get it right."
"Professionals practice until they can't get it wrong."
RedLineResident is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2007, 01:33 PM   #32
Cosmo Dude
コスモ
 
Cosmo Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Location: Vic
Car: Mazda '95 Astina I4, '86 B2K and '10 3 MZR-CD
Posts: 7,888
Yep, not by much about 16mm extra diamater on the Astina
__________________
My 'stina Hatch

Last edited by Cosmo Dude; 21-09-2007 at 01:37 PM.
Cosmo Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2007, 01:36 PM   #33
RedLineResident
Senior Member
 
RedLineResident's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Adelaide
Car: BA V6 Hardtop 5 Speed & 97 Prelude VTIR
Posts: 1,518
That makes no sense, the 626's are a bigger, heavier car and their V6 engines are hell torqueier and pick up speed well. It doesn't make a great deal of sense to put smaller brakes on them.

Dad's got a 96 626, hes gonna spew when I tell him that my tiny astina has bigger rotors than his.

Awesom, that made my day.
__________________

"Amateurs practice until they get it right."
"Professionals practice until they can't get it wrong."
RedLineResident is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2007, 03:48 PM   #34
ROB-80E
Senior Member
 
ROB-80E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: SE QLD, Australia
Car: Turbo BG Astina
Posts: 792
Send a message via ICQ to ROB-80E Send a message via MSN to ROB-80E
The V6 brake upgrage on my BG astina combined with DBA4000 rotors and Lucas pads made a HELL of a difference... I'm still working on getting the ABS side of things working, but i'm getting there.

I'd like to know if there is a difference going from the V6 brakes for the V6 brakes with a subie caliper...but at this stage, I haven't seen the need to upgrade any further.
__________________
BG Astina + GTR conversion + Microtech ECU + FMIC + 3" pipes and Exhaust x 21psi boost = 12.168 to the power of 326whp
ROB-80E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2007, 07:36 PM   #35
Cosmo Dude
コスモ
 
Cosmo Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Location: Vic
Car: Mazda '95 Astina I4, '86 B2K and '10 3 MZR-CD
Posts: 7,888
Oops,
I have just found that the 626 in question is a GD not a GE Oh well back to the wreckers next week.
The only thing on the thread was that it is posted in the MX6.com 1st gen section. On the bright side the GD rotors are only 10mm smaller than the BA V6 rotors.
If I do need GD rotors they should be much cheaper than the BA V6 ones, Greg?
__________________
My 'stina Hatch
Cosmo Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2007, 08:08 PM   #36
Cosmo Dude
コスモ
 
Cosmo Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Location: Vic
Car: Mazda '95 Astina I4, '86 B2K and '10 3 MZR-CD
Posts: 7,888
Just found that Eunos 800 N/A rotors are the same diameter as BA V6 and 6mm thicker. The centerline of the rotor is possibly too far inboard.
The HD 929 is 274mm across and 24mm thick with a similar center.
The BA V6 is 274mm across and 22mm thick.
__________________
My 'stina Hatch
Cosmo Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2007, 09:17 PM   #37
project.r.racing
Senior Member
 
project.r.racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: n/a
Car: n/a
Posts: 10,929
question - how would BG8Z GTR front hubs/rotors/calipers fit a BG or BA Astina?
i'm assuming it is a straight swap, but others will know more.

ryan
project.r.racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2007, 07:20 PM   #38
ROB-80E
Senior Member
 
ROB-80E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: SE QLD, Australia
Car: Turbo BG Astina
Posts: 792
Send a message via ICQ to ROB-80E Send a message via MSN to ROB-80E
No they won't go...only upgradeable on the BG GTX. The 4wd hubs are designed to work with a 4wd steering rack (yes they are different). Even on the GTX you still need the struts to go with.

The GTR brakes are essentially the same as the BA V6.
__________________
BG Astina + GTR conversion + Microtech ECU + FMIC + 3" pipes and Exhaust x 21psi boost = 12.168 to the power of 326whp
ROB-80E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2007, 08:17 PM   #39
project.r.racing
Senior Member
 
project.r.racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: n/a
Car: n/a
Posts: 10,929
Quote:
Originally Posted by ROB-80E View Post
No they won't go...only upgradeable on the BG GTX. The 4wd hubs are designed to work with a 4wd steering rack (yes they are different). Even on the GTX you still need the struts to go with.
The GTR brakes are essentially the same as the BA V6.
the reason i ask is that you can get D2 / G4 / K-Sport 330mm rotors and 8 pot calipers for $2300 off the shelf for a GTR, (or $2600 for 356mm,) much bigger than the little toys currently being played with.

bugger the GTR hubs cannot be used then.

ryan

Last edited by project.r.racing; 23-09-2007 at 08:43 PM.
project.r.racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2007, 08:49 PM   #40
project.r.racing
Senior Member
 
project.r.racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: n/a
Car: n/a
Posts: 10,929
What about 626 brakes from same era? Or they just V6 brakes?
project.r.racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 06:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
2001- 2010 AstinaGT