Go Back   AstinaGT Forums > Performance & Technical > Performance & General Maintenance

Old 23-01-2014, 03:49 PM   #1
Dutchy

Car: BG Astina SP Turbo
Send a message via MSN to Dutchy
G Series G-box rebuild

Hey Guys,

I've been rolling my Asti round for the last 8 years now with the GT-X motor and having little to no problems. But she is getting pretty tired and so I am soon to give her some much needed attention.
1st things 1st, the tranny is getting refreshed. The box in her is the standard G5M-R and has like 280,000kms on it.
I have a spare G5M-R gearbox with far less ks that I have been planning to rebuild. About a year ago, I was sure that I had seen rebuild kits available for the box on ebay. However I no longer can see them???
So a few questions:
Does anybody know where I can get a rebuild kit for one of these gboxes?
Specifically what is in the rebuild kit? Synchros, seals, bearings etc??
Has anybody rebuilt one of these themselves? What are the gotchas?

Hopefully our combined knowledge can get me the answers that I need!

Cheers,
Jeremy
Old 23-01-2014, 04:10 PM   #2
Dutchy

I'm not sure if this will help, but I realised I was a little vague with that first post too. The box to be rebuilt is from a 92 Astina SP.
Old 23-01-2014, 04:44 PM   #3
derb

Car: 1993 BG Astina GT-X
I can definitely help a bit, I have a fully built G series behind my BPT.

Many people recommend getting the PAR straight cut 3rd gear as they are apparently weaker/take more torque. But you've been going solid for 8 years on your box so don't bother I guess. it's $700 you can save. I have it in mine, and it sounds awesome, which is probably the main benefit lol.

As for rebuild kits with synchros/seals I have no idea. I do know that I got 2 piece, triple cone synchros on my 1st, 2nd and 3rd gears. This kind of synchro tech is present in MPS gearboxes. Get yourself a 626 5th gear though for highway cruising. I have a Familia GTR 5th and I'm already doing over 3000rpm at 110kph.