Go Back   AstinaGT Forums > Performance & Technical > Performance & General Maintenance

Old 15-04-2006, 10:55 AM   #1
terninatortim

Question 1990 BG astina SP: changing rear brake pads

Hey, im new to Astina GT and i've been changing the brake pads on my 1990 bg astina SP (1.8 DOHC).

The front ones were easy to change but the rear was an entirerly different story.

Can anyone help me out or direct me to a site where i can get some instructions? Any pictures could be helpful, i've temporarily misplaced my manual. . .

Besides that, my sunroof is rusted through (almost), i think it was a problem for most astinas of the time. Does anyone know where i can replace it? preferable with tinted glass?
Old 15-04-2006, 01:34 PM   #2
ferdinand_911

Car: Mazda 3
I just rebuilt the rear calipers on my BG SP & you're right it's alot more involved than doing the fronts....

As it is a single piston setup the caliper "floats" on rails or sliders. One of the two sliders is long and the other short with (unless it's missing) a black cap on the back (inboard) end of it...

If you take this black cap off you'll see the (10mm hex) head of a Bolt which you'll need to remove in order to pivot the rest of the caliper around the other slider through almost 180degrees. this will allow you to take the pads out and push the piston back to put the new pads in.