Go Back   AstinaGT Forums > Performance & Technical > Forced Induction & Engine Conversions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 19-10-2005, 09:21 PM   #1
dfvadr
Senior Member
 
dfvadr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Queensland
Car: ss , sp20 , 94ba
Posts: 1,708
ecu question

does any-one no if the mx5 turbo runs the same ecu as the sp20
__________________
2001 SP20 Mazda Astina Turbo
- t28b/b turbo teflon coated forge pistons 20thou o/size , billet rods , whole motor fully balanced
- custom body kit
- 18"ame's
- custom interior
- kenwood head unit , pioneer speakers driven by 800 watt amp , kicker subs driven by 1000 watt amps each sub [135.2db at supernats], two 1th caps 4 tv screens dvd player
- xbox
- airbag suspension with gas strut towers
- custom plates an airbrushing on bonnet
dfvadr is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 19-10-2005, 10:36 PM   #2
Critter
Senior Member
 
Critter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Winmalee NSW
Car: SP20
Posts: 690
I'd be very surprised......
__________________
2001 Astina SP20
Precision Power / Pioneer P9 sound system with Directed widescreen video
Custom graphics and leather interior
Adjustable lowered suspension with monster brakes
Critter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-10-2005, 10:56 PM   #3
Astro Boy
GSL RallySport
 
Astro Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Brendale QLD!!!
Car: Cross 6
Posts: 1,835
I wouldn't be, virtually every GM car runs the exact same delco computer...
__________________
- GSL RallySport - Ph: 1300 884 836 -
Sick of paying too much for high performance brake pads? Want high performance and cold bite with low rotor wear?
- QFM Performance Brake Pads -
Also specialising in
- DMS High Performance Shock Absorbers - Monit Rally Computers -
Astro Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2005, 07:34 AM   #4
twilightprotege
Driving a faster car now!
 
twilightprotege's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Work, always at bloody work...
Car: Lotus ....... .
Posts: 5,217
but it's spazda.

i'd say no, but see if you can get the code on the ecu
twilightprotege is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2005, 12:42 PM   #5
chicaboo
Senior Member
 
chicaboo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Logan prefecture
Car: Touge monster
Posts: 7,585
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bourne Boy
I wouldn't be, virtually every GM car runs the exact same delco computer...
As close as the 323 BJ 1.8 is to the 2.0, the ECUs are both different, not even made by the same company? The 1.6 and 1.8 have Mitsubishi ECUs, I don't recall who made the SP20 ecu...
chicaboo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2005, 02:20 PM   #6
twilightprotege
Driving a faster car now!
 
twilightprotege's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Work, always at bloody work...
Car: Lotus ....... .
Posts: 5,217
denso
twilightprotege is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2005, 05:02 PM   #7
project.r.racing
Senior Member
 
project.r.racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: n/a
Car: n/a
Posts: 10,927
also they're 2 diffent engines aswell, different dissys and electricals...

NO! they are not the same.
project.r.racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2005, 09:00 PM   #8
dfvadr
Senior Member
 
dfvadr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Queensland
Car: ss , sp20 , 94ba
Posts: 1,708
I understand the computing and possibly the body would be different, what i'm lead to believe is that the wiring harness plug would be the same to plug straight into the sp20 computer or vice versa
__________________
2001 SP20 Mazda Astina Turbo
- t28b/b turbo teflon coated forge pistons 20thou o/size , billet rods , whole motor fully balanced
- custom body kit
- 18"ame's
- custom interior
- kenwood head unit , pioneer speakers driven by 800 watt amp , kicker subs driven by 1000 watt amps each sub [135.2db at supernats], two 1th caps 4 tv screens dvd player
- xbox
- airbag suspension with gas strut towers
- custom plates an airbrushing on bonnet
dfvadr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2005, 09:42 PM   #9
project.r.racing
Senior Member
 
project.r.racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: n/a
Car: n/a
Posts: 10,927
most of the wiring looms are the same, that is correct, if that is the way you are looking to go, Wolf 3D ecu's hard a direct plug-in for the mx5 so if the sp20 and mx5 have the same looms, then you could put a Wolf3D in without cutting any wires
good idea
project.r.racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-10-2005, 10:00 PM   #10
dfvadr
Senior Member
 
dfvadr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Queensland
Car: ss , sp20 , 94ba
Posts: 1,708
well thats the track im going down but not with a wolf3d though
__________________
2001 SP20 Mazda Astina Turbo
- t28b/b turbo teflon coated forge pistons 20thou o/size , billet rods , whole motor fully balanced
- custom body kit
- 18"ame's
- custom interior
- kenwood head unit , pioneer speakers driven by 800 watt amp , kicker subs driven by 1000 watt amps each sub [135.2db at supernats], two 1th caps 4 tv screens dvd player
- xbox
- airbag suspension with gas strut towers
- custom plates an airbrushing on bonnet
dfvadr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-2005, 10:52 PM   #11
Astro Boy
GSL RallySport
 
Astro Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Brendale QLD!!!
Car: Cross 6
Posts: 1,835
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeeJay RyRy
also they're 2 diffent engines aswell, different dissys and electricals...
What's ya point??? If your gonna try and tell me an Astra Turbo, a Commdore SS and a Holden Rodeo V6 don't have different engine you got issues....
__________________
- GSL RallySport - Ph: 1300 884 836 -
Sick of paying too much for high performance brake pads? Want high performance and cold bite with low rotor wear?
- QFM Performance Brake Pads -
Also specialising in
- DMS High Performance Shock Absorbers - Monit Rally Computers -
Astro Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-2005, 07:05 AM   #12
platypus
living in the past man
 
platypus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Newcastle, NSW
Car: Subaru Outback 2.0 turbo
Posts: 4,707
Send a message via MSN to platypus
yes - but the delco unit won't recognise the mazda sensors - it requires a new set of sensors to match the delco

i'd be checking out some wiring diagrams - could prolly get a copy from the dealer if you ask them!!!
__________________
1997 BG5 Subaru Outback - Now with STI boost...
platypus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-2005, 07:54 AM   #13
project.r.racing
Senior Member
 
project.r.racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: n/a
Car: n/a
Posts: 10,927
the poit was greg that you can't put a mx5 ecu in a sp20... just about everything is different

oh yeah, the astras don't use a delcos either, since its not a GM company, just a rebadged belgium ****box

ryan
project.r.racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-2005, 07:49 PM   #14
crazy_bunny
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2
Sorry about hijacking the thread but a quick question for you.
The ecu in the 1.8L 2003 323 how much adaptablilty does it have??? For example im fitting quads and have a plenium therefor can still run the stock AFM and all the injectors have the correct resitance and the TPS can be swapped. So will the stock ecu learn to cope with the extra air or will it lean out?
__________________
-\San"i*ty\, n. [L. sanitas, from sanus sound, healthy. See Sane.] The condition or quality of being sane; soundness of health of body or mind, especially of the mind; saneness.
-Custom Image Car Sound
BUZZ ENGINES
crazy_bunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-2005, 08:33 PM   #15
Cosmo Dude
コスモ
 
Cosmo Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Location: Vic
Car: Mazda '95 Astina I4, '86 B2K and '10 3 MZR-CD
Posts: 7,887
At the end of the day you need to know 2 things;
1. Are the engines mechanically similar enough to each other?
2. How closely do the plugs (wiring in particular) correspond?
I havn't been bothered to compare either
__________________
My 'stina Hatch
Cosmo Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-2005, 11:44 PM   #16
platypus
living in the past man
 
platypus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Newcastle, NSW
Car: Subaru Outback 2.0 turbo
Posts: 4,707
Send a message via MSN to platypus
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeeJay RyRy
the poit was greg that you can't put a mx5 ecu in a sp20... just about everything is different

oh yeah, the astras don't use a delcos either, since its not a GM company, just a rebadged belgium ****box

ryan
(i'm going to regret this)

greg is right on this one - astras arn't belgium - ford manufacture in belguim not GM

astras are in fact GM cars - rebadged and re-engineered Opels over to Vauxhalls over to Holden - if you want to know more try checking out www.opelaus.com


rod - just for your own interest the 2.3l mazda 6 has the same sensors as what the 1.6 ZM engine does and the same coil packs - am i showing interest in the workings of the MPS6? hell yes! of course displacement is an issue here


other rod - has something come up or is it just a brain storm?? - if something has come up try it out first!!! it should work if there is enough similarity in the plug up stuff - but the next questions that need to looked at is how similar the tune of the engines will be - as that is what will determine the firing order and the timing of the firing

otherwise it may well be a bit easier to have an aftermarket programmed up on it - i know that may go against some of your other work but it might just be the best in terms of longetivity
__________________
1997 BG5 Subaru Outback - Now with STI boost...
platypus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2005, 07:38 AM   #17
twilightprotege
Driving a faster car now!
 
twilightprotege's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Work, always at bloody work...
Car: Lotus ....... .
Posts: 5,217
Quote:
Originally Posted by crazy_bunny
Sorry about hijacking the thread but a quick question for you.
The ecu in the 1.8L 2003 323 how much adaptablilty does it have??? For example im fitting quads and have a plenium therefor can still run the stock AFM and all the injectors have the correct resitance and the TPS can be swapped. So will the stock ecu learn to cope with the extra air or will it lean out?
simple answer (well question really) - if you want to run quads, why the fark would you want to keep the stock ecu?
twilightprotege is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2005, 07:49 AM   #18
platypus
living in the past man
 
platypus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Newcastle, NSW
Car: Subaru Outback 2.0 turbo
Posts: 4,707
Send a message via MSN to platypus
if you ran quads what hope would you have with the stock afm?
__________________
1997 BG5 Subaru Outback - Now with STI boost...
platypus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2005, 12:50 PM   #19
Astro Boy
GSL RallySport
 
Astro Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Brendale QLD!!!
Car: Cross 6
Posts: 1,835
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahb11m
(i'm going to regret this)

greg is right on this one - astras arn't belgium - ford manufacture in belguim not GM

astras are in fact GM cars - rebadged and re-engineered Opels over to Vauxhalls over to Holden - if you want to know more try checking out www.opelaus.com
But not for too much longer either... this new daewoo crap is coming over in container loads... I was lucky enough to be at the dealer launch of all the new models down at the Holden Performance driving centre... The viva, the something else, and the tigra...

The viva and the other daewoo thing is just CRAP!!! But, i beleive that tigra is still european sourced, and i was plesently surprised... for what it is, it isn't a bad car, and is actually very refined, both on the road, and on the track...
__________________
- GSL RallySport - Ph: 1300 884 836 -
Sick of paying too much for high performance brake pads? Want high performance and cold bite with low rotor wear?
- QFM Performance Brake Pads -
Also specialising in
- DMS High Performance Shock Absorbers - Monit Rally Computers -
Astro Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2005, 12:54 PM   #20
Astro Boy
GSL RallySport
 
Astro Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Brendale QLD!!!
Car: Cross 6
Posts: 1,835
Quote:
Originally Posted by twilightprotege
simple answer (well question really) - if you want to run quads, why the fark would you want to keep the stock ecu?
Cars with real quads don't have ecu's, hey nate!













BTW.. dont take that comment seriously, as i'm currently getting a manifold made up for the charade to suit silver top 4AGE quads too
__________________
- GSL RallySport - Ph: 1300 884 836 -
Sick of paying too much for high performance brake pads? Want high performance and cold bite with low rotor wear?
- QFM Performance Brake Pads -
Also specialising in
- DMS High Performance Shock Absorbers - Monit Rally Computers -
Astro Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resetting ECU Eire323f Performance & General Maintenance 6 28-01-2007 11:17 PM
EOI: Japspec Bp26 Bpt Ecu + Afm + Loom BGLOVER For Sale/Wanted 9 10-02-2006 05:21 PM
Help: v6 Stock ECU codes.....wtf boostedbatman Performance & General Maintenance 5 08-12-2004 04:23 AM
Fs: Mazda Bpt Gtx Ecu, Loom, Afm Bboy_Sparx For Sale/Wanted 8 24-10-2004 08:37 PM
K & N Panel Filter & Fuel Economy? Tony Performance & General Maintenance 40 16-10-2003 04:15 PM


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 08:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
2001- 2010 AstinaGT