Go Back   AstinaGT Forums > Performance & Technical > Interior & Electrics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 14-12-2015, 04:40 PM   #1
Jazzy
Junior Member
 
Jazzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Australia
Car: BJII SP20 Astina 5spd
Posts: 88
SP20 with factory steering wheel mounted volume controls?



Going by the cluster, that pic is not an AUS SP20. Was this an option for the AUS SP20's?
If not has anyone done a conversion? Thinking you'd need the clock spring along with some wiring (if it's not already part of the loom that is).
Keen as to do it as I like the factory look.
Jazzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 15-12-2015, 04:33 PM   #2
JDM323
Senior Member
 
JDM323's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: North Qld
Car: 2002 BJ2 protege
Posts: 1,238
Send a message via ICQ to JDM323
The UK 323F sport had that from what I've seen.
JDM323 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2015, 07:19 PM   #3
Jazzy
Junior Member
 
Jazzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Australia
Car: BJII SP20 Astina 5spd
Posts: 88
Yeah.. and the North American market got cruise control it seems.



Found out that the control switch will not mount on the OE Nardi Torino wheel as it doesn't have the mounting holes for it. But can be retro fitted with a few mod's. Like what was done by TheMan HERE to fit cruise.

Love to find out if it will work with the volume controls too.


On a side note, JDM323, you seem to be the only active/contributing member on this forum. Has astinagt.com past it's used by date?
Jazzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2015, 04:50 PM   #4
JDM323
Senior Member
 
JDM323's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: North Qld
Car: 2002 BJ2 protege
Posts: 1,238
Send a message via ICQ to JDM323
Not while we're still using it, as for the cruise I will be fitting one of those switches to my timber nardi and running an electronic cruise control under the dash.
JDM323 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2015, 07:00 PM   #5
Cosmo Dude
コスモ
 
Cosmo Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Location: Vic
Car: Mazda '95 Astina I4, '86 B2K and '10 3 MZR-CD
Posts: 7,884
You would need the steering wheel, the clock spring and something to convert the control signal into whatever you HU needs for remote.
Now days it's all CAN BUS signal which is very generic but AFAIK BJ was pre CAN BUS so rots o' ruck.
__________________
My 'stina Hatch
Cosmo Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2015, 07:05 PM   #6
Cosmo Dude
コスモ
 
Cosmo Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Location: Vic
Car: Mazda '95 Astina I4, '86 B2K and '10 3 MZR-CD
Posts: 7,884
BTW if you do find something then post it. My 929 has steering controls and they are handy. Unless of course you accidentally press the accelerate button and don't notice until you're approaching 150km/h on the Princes HWY
__________________
My 'stina Hatch
Cosmo Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2016, 08:59 PM   #7
Jazzy
Junior Member
 
Jazzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Australia
Car: BJII SP20 Astina 5spd
Posts: 88
I put this project on the backburner after having not much info to go with.

But started to look at it again about a month ago. And silly me the wiring info was right there in TheMAN's thread I linked in post #3!!

I now have factory wheel mounted volume controls for the factory stereo in my BJII Astina SP20! All the info was available in the .pdf file attached in that thread.

Modified my black/silver Nardi Torino as per the instructions on TheMan's thread, added the required two wires, and sourced a 2nd hand switch (Mazda part no BL2C664M0) from UK.

Job done. Very happy.
Jazzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 05:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
2001- 2010 AstinaGT