Go Back   AstinaGT Forums > Performance & Technical > Performance & General Maintenance

Old 22-11-2006, 04:43 PM   #1
Pork Chop Express

Car: 1997 Mazda Astina Hatch
To CAI or not CAI

I know I've been flooding the forums with help about the CAI.. I really appreciate it. The reason I keep asking Qs is because I'm a noob, and I have astinagt telling me one thing, while my rev head friends tell me another. They don't know anything about Mazda's which is why I rely on you guys..

Is a CAI a worthwhile mod? I don't have intention of upgrading my exhaust or anything else like that. I just want my car to operate in normal conditions, as it operates at 3am in the morning when the air is crisp and cold.

My rev head friends tell me my car will be more fuel efficient with a CAI... I've also read that I will be burning more fuel to compensate for the additional oxygen intake.....

Alternatively, is there anything I can do to make the car more responsive? I don't need to go faster, I just want more acceleration (I don't want to start chopping panels off the car either)....

Thanks
Old 22-11-2006, 04:46 PM   #2
project.r.racing

Car: n/a
change your exhaust 1st... you can only get as much air into the engine as you can get out. not worth it without a modified exhaust.

ryan
project.r.racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-2006, 01:45 AM   #3
MAztinA 323

Car: 1989 Nissan Silvia CA18DET
Send a message via MSN to MAztinA 323
CAI