Go Back   AstinaGT Forums > Performance & Technical > Audio Hi-fi

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-02-2005, 11:26 PM   #1
chipa
Crazy Member
 
chipa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Sydney
Car: FPV F6 Typhoon
Posts: 1,372
Single DIN head unit in BJ

How much hassle is there in mount a single DIN head unit in the BJ's with our double DIN sized space? Is there a bracket anywhere to allow standard replacement units to be bolted in easier? Or do I *sigh* once again have to make a bracket myself?
__________________
King Spring Lows, TWM short shifter, split eardrums, blah blah blah and a little voice saying "I wish I had a turbo"

Updated 2007-03-19: Readers Rides Finally upgraded from the stock headunit
chipa is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 04-02-2005, 12:15 AM   #2
arden
Senior Member
 
arden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Sydney
Car: Suby
Posts: 1,280
get a pocket from mazda
critter was telling us on australia day cruise that it only costs a whopping $12

oh ur talkin about boltin it in...my bad.

i guess the boys who have done it will chip in soon with answers.
__________________
arden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2005, 06:22 PM   #3
chicaboo
Senior Member
 
chicaboo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Logan prefecture
Car: Scooter
Posts: 7,585
$12 for the single DIN pocket isn't bad. That'll be handy if I ever go for a motorised single DIN LCD screen headunit. Oh but I do like the Kenwood double DIN LCD screen headunit!
chicaboo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2005, 08:43 PM   #4
323GUY
Junior Member
 
323GUY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brisbane
Car: 323 astina
Posts: 35
i had my installed at a car audio place and it only took them bout an hour so i'm guessing jsut a standard single din bracket would fit.
323GUY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2005, 12:37 PM   #5
ezin
AstinaGT Regular
 
ezin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: melb
Posts: 416
I found that when i did mine the supplied mounting bracket was a hass to mount properly & line up with the pocket perfectly (the stereo always wanted to go in to far so i cut bits of a coat hanger and put in each side so it held the stereo out 2.5mm more) Another thing i found was it was better to put the pocket on the top so u dont have all the weight over the top of the pocket from the stereo cause depending on the glue u use to mount the bracket in can sag down a bit after being parked in the sun all day. Another neat trick i found was to get a long zip-tie and cut it to size and glue it between the pocket and stereo (shiny side out) so u dont get a gap that u can see through-looks heaps neater.

Last edited by ezin; 05-02-2005 at 12:40 PM.
ezin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2005, 07:37 PM   #6
platypus
living in the past man
 
platypus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Newcastle, NSW
Car: Subaru Outback 2.0 turbo
Posts: 4,707
Send a message via MSN to platypus
there is also a metal bar that goes across the pocket space - this is used to hold the pocket in properly... this part screws into the dash
__________________
1997 BG5 Subaru Outback - Now with STI boost...
platypus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2005, 10:18 PM   #7
Zed
SQL SP20
 
Zed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Sydney, NSW
Car: 2003 323 Astina SP20
Posts: 190
All I've done is slot the Mazda pocket at the bottom (clicked right in) and the single DIN HU above it. No problems with sagging yet. After the trim plate was put on you can't see any visible gaps and the HU and pccket line up pretty much perfectly.

Scosche and Metra make some dash kits for the SP20 that you can get from the US though if you wanted a more secure fitting.
__________________
Alpine - AVI - JL Audio - Image Dynamics - Coustic - Audiocontrol
Dynamat - Focal - Streetwires
David Navone Engineering
Zed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2005, 10:34 PM   #8
chipa
Crazy Member
 
chipa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Sydney
Car: FPV F6 Typhoon
Posts: 1,372
So from the sound of it you still have to custom fit it to have a secure installation. Thanks ppl. I mainly wanted to know as I'm going to be putting one of these suckers in the spare space....
Jaycar In-Dash Analogue VU and Voltage Display for Cars
__________________
King Spring Lows, TWM short shifter, split eardrums, blah blah blah and a little voice saying "I wish I had a turbo"

Updated 2007-03-19: Readers Rides Finally upgraded from the stock headunit

Last edited by chipa; 07-02-2005 at 10:37 PM.
chipa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2005, 10:37 PM   #9
platypus
living in the past man
 
platypus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Newcastle, NSW
Car: Subaru Outback 2.0 turbo
Posts: 4,707
Send a message via MSN to platypus
hmm ok its a Jaycar thingyma bob

you shoudl be pretty ok with that one, as long as you have a box that can expand or the proper stub at the back - you will notice that there is indents on the back behind the HU
__________________
1997 BG5 Subaru Outback - Now with STI boost...
platypus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ba astina double din head unit tim Audio Hi-fi 7 04-09-2006 04:35 PM
WTB - BA factory double din head unit tim For Sale/Wanted 0 03-06-2006 04:12 PM
FS: [NSW] Kenwood KDC 9026R Head Unit & Kenwood VDC 7000P Monitor MMM323 For Sale/Wanted 4 24-05-2006 06:15 PM
Wiring Diagram for the BJII Head unit Adam Audio Hi-fi 0 22-05-2005 11:12 PM
Head Unit mounting adapters or brackets SehnKhan Audio Hi-fi 4 14-07-2004 01:23 PM


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 07:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
2001- 2010 AstinaGT