Go Back   AstinaGT Forums > Performance & Technical > Audio Hi-fi

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-09-2006, 11:20 AM   #1
AstinaBoiV6
Senior Member
 
AstinaBoiV6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Springwood MASSIVE Represent
Car: ba
Posts: 1,426
Send a message via MSN to AstinaBoiV6
HOW TO: PS2 Slimline Install

Ok since no1 else has made a thread about this i mite aswell do 1. Its actually very easy to do provided you have the parts and it took me 2 hours which included me mucking around playing games and watching bro town.

Things you need:
- Gaming console. (i used a playstation 2 slimline as it fits in the glovebox perfectly)
- power inverter
- fm modulator or aux in addaptor. (im using a fm modulator atm but once my aix in converter for pioneer headunits arrives next week that will be replaced for better sound)
- a screen (cheers to platypus)
- wire taps
- electrical tape

Step By Step:
1- remove the centre console (takes 2 min)
2- figure out where you want the console and the power inverter. i chose to put the console in glovebox and the power inverter under pass seat as its a pretty small thing (refer to pic).
3- time to wire everything... use wire taps (refer to pic) to connect the power inverter and screen to any power wires and ground inside the car. i used the power/ground cables for the headunit. connect the wires so that you now have power going to the inverter and screen.
4- connect the cables for the console to the power inverter to check everything works. (oh the power inverter u mite wana keep somewhere u can access so u can switch it off when not in use)
5- connect your yellow rca from console to input in screen. yellow - yellow
6- connect the red/white rca to red/white imput on a fm modulator or a aux in converter then connect to headunit so that u can run everything through sound system.
7- double check everything works and use electrical tape to cover any exposed connections.
8- replace centre console and enjoy..

I ran all wires through centre console so you cant see anythig and the fm modulator is in there aswell..

Pics:


what you need before you start

centre console removed and time for wireing.

screen in.. 6.5" lcd

power inverter under seat

console ps2 slimline fits nicely.. will make proper padded suports.

Gran turismo 3 A-Spec.

Bro Town

The screen is actuall alot better than the pictures and im happy with it. THe console is also wired so that i can easily remove it to use at home with another av cable.

Special Thnaks to:
-Platypus
-Jarad
__________________

Team AJ Member PM 4 details

Last edited by AstinaBoiV6; 07-09-2006 at 11:22 AM.
AstinaBoiV6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 07-09-2006, 10:55 PM   #2
AstinaBoiV6
Senior Member
 
AstinaBoiV6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Springwood MASSIVE Represent
Car: ba
Posts: 1,426
Send a message via MSN to AstinaBoiV6
update: installing a volt meter gauge just to let me know how much juice i have left in the battery.
__________________

Team AJ Member PM 4 details
AstinaBoiV6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2006, 07:18 AM   #3
chicaboo
Senior Member
 
chicaboo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Logan prefecture
Car: Scooter
Posts: 7,585
Aren't amps more important than volts when it comes to starting?
chicaboo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2006, 06:02 PM   #4
AstinaBoiV6
Senior Member
 
AstinaBoiV6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Springwood MASSIVE Represent
Car: ba
Posts: 1,426
Send a message via MSN to AstinaBoiV6
not sure gav... will look into that... anyway appart from that wat u think of the install?. haha soo many ppl asked me who installed it and its strange no1 thinks i do all my own installs. y pay some1 to install something when you can save $$ and do the same job.
__________________

Team AJ Member PM 4 details
AstinaBoiV6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2006, 06:15 PM   #5
bourbon
The Hairy Mod
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: southside ya'll and North Side, Brissy
Car: MINI Cooper S 2003
Posts: 8,110
if i got a pro to install it i wouldnt expect it to be in the glove box...maybe below it so its out all the time and so you can put stuff in and out with out openin the glove box. doesnt it bounce a bit in theree????
__________________
For All your crash repair panels & lights, clear lights contact us at
PANEL HOUSE 45 RANDALL ST SLACKS CREEK QLD 4127
PHONE : 07 3808 8737 FAX : 07 3808 8735
bourbon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2006, 06:18 PM   #6
PhatAstina
Junior Member
 
PhatAstina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Perth, Australia
Car: subaru
Posts: 46
ummm, you dont need a power invertor for a ps2 slimline because it only runs of 8.v volts, so jst running it from a constant power source from the battery is fine. i got one in my car and its fine as, i jst plug the ps2 in everytime i want to play. you can get the little power bit to plug into the ps2 slimmy from like jaycar or sumthin.
__________________
Born 2 be loud

the user formerly known as GrEeN mAcHiNe
PhatAstina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2006, 07:06 PM   #7
platypus
living in the past man
 
platypus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Newcastle, NSW
Car: Subaru Outback 2.0 turbo
Posts: 4,707
Send a message via MSN to platypus
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhatAstina
ummm, you dont need a power invertor for a ps2 slimline because it only runs of 8.v volts, so jst running it from a constant power source from the battery is fine. i got one in my car and its fine as, i jst plug the ps2 in everytime i want to play. you can get the little power bit to plug into the ps2 slimmy from like jaycar or sumthin.
i thought i mentioned that?... anyway looks good, glad you like it all (agree picture on that screen has to be seen rather than pictured reason i didn't take pics)


most power inverters actually cut power @ 10volts or so so as to not totally smash the battery
__________________
1997 BG5 Subaru Outback - Now with STI boost...
platypus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2006, 11:59 PM   #8
AstinaBoiV6
Senior Member
 
AstinaBoiV6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Springwood MASSIVE Represent
Car: ba
Posts: 1,426
Send a message via MSN to AstinaBoiV6
yer bourbon and u would also expect to see it and other ppl to see it. the reason its in there is so ppl cant see that its there. nope dont bounce as ive made brackets and sits in a padded backing. perfect fit.

lol y would i use the glovebox when the BA has perfect storage space in the front doors.

yer the reason i got the power inverter is because it has a automatic cut off as to not drain the battery. reading the manual helped lol now i dont need to install a gauge.
__________________

Team AJ Member PM 4 details
AstinaBoiV6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2006, 12:52 AM   #9
chipa
Crazy Member
 
chipa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Sydney
Car: FPV F6 Typhoon
Posts: 1,372
The other reason to use the inverter is so that you get a clean power source for the PS2. Like most electrical devices not designed for cars (and quite a few that are) it wont take much, such as a small fault in the alternator or starting the car (rarer) to kill the device.

Quote:
Originally Posted by chicaboo
Aren't amps more important than volts when it comes to starting?
watts matter, but as watts = volts * amps and volts is the only thing we can measure without current flow......
__________________
King Spring Lows, TWM short shifter, split eardrums, blah blah blah and a little voice saying "I wish I had a turbo"

Updated 2007-03-19: Readers Rides Finally upgraded from the stock headunit
chipa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2008, 09:27 PM   #10
marcs_sp20
Moderator
 
marcs_sp20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ipswich, Queensland
Car: 2002 Mazda Astina SP20 2006 Mazda 6 GY Wagon
Posts: 9,768
Sorry to bring up an old thread, but what would I need to run the PS2 off just at 8v? Would I need a female DC connector + cabling? And just run cabling for power & an earth??

Cheers
Marc
__________________
[URL="http://www.astinagt.com/forums/vbpicgallery.php?do=view&g=590"]
marcs_sp20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2008, 10:58 PM   #11
DVS
AstinaGT Regular
 
DVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Sydney
Car: BJII sp20
Posts: 488
jesus updated thread to ps3 kthnxbi
__________________
2002 Mazda Astina 323 SP20
DVS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2008, 11:21 PM   #12
marcs_sp20
Moderator
 
marcs_sp20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ipswich, Queensland
Car: 2002 Mazda Astina SP20 2006 Mazda 6 GY Wagon
Posts: 9,768
Quote:
Originally Posted by DVS View Post
jesus updated thread to ps3 kthnxbi
Dude, seriously, I for one wouldnt want to put a PS3 in the car because:

A) I dont own a PS3
B) I cant afford a PS3
C) I have a PS2, and this is a thread relating to putting a PS2 into a car... and seeing you have nothing to offer, stfu!

Any idea's people???
__________________
[URL="http://www.astinagt.com/forums/vbpicgallery.php?do=view&g=590"]
marcs_sp20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2008, 11:46 PM   #13
70NYD
Veni, vidi, vici
 
70NYD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Brisbane
Car: 1996 BA Hatch & 2005 RX8
Posts: 4,911
is PS2s internal voltage at 8V?
if so then yes, you will need a connector and cabling, and if you have a chance plug it in to a DC source that has a stable regulated 8V output, rather than just a 8V wire in the car becausethat way you will avoid current spikes due to alteternator, ac, lights, windows etc. pretty sure that JBhifi would have regulators like this (something like 10V-14V input to a 8V output) to just like a fallback for your ps2 powerboard hope this helps
__________________
70NYD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2008, 12:57 PM   #14
marcs_sp20
Moderator
 
marcs_sp20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ipswich, Queensland
Car: 2002 Mazda Astina SP20 2006 Mazda 6 GY Wagon
Posts: 9,768
Yeah the slim lines run at 8.5v, and my plan was to run it just from the battery (fused of course!) & not worry about having the cigarette adaptor that u see on ebay....

Just not sure to how do it
__________________
[URL="http://www.astinagt.com/forums/vbpicgallery.php?do=view&g=590"]
marcs_sp20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2008, 04:52 PM   #15
70NYD
Veni, vidi, vici
 
70NYD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Brisbane
Car: 1996 BA Hatch & 2005 RX8
Posts: 4,911
i dunno what to say then if you run it of a 8.5V line in the car it should be fine, but dont run it straight of a 12V it might overload
__________________
70NYD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2008, 11:54 PM   #16
rodhog
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sydney Lakemba
Car: mx-6 626 Gs300 Maz2 was 95 KF BA-HT
Posts: 2,024
Running them straight through a fused at 15amp 12 volt source is fine

IT won't blow. Because - if you nderstand electrical devices it's about how much Jucie it will suck.

But as mentioned.
You do get Alot cleaner power by running a small inverter.

If you have laptop or similar device to be run originally by 110volt (most original desgined gear is 110Volt not 230volt )

by taking the charging power from your car then passing it into a inverter then a transformer desgined for the unit and then into the device. You can eliminate two things Power surges/voltage-amp(current) spikes and additional noise.

Alternators -especially Mitsubishi supplied mazda Alternators are well known for noise and well IMO just typical bad desgin. There are good models and then there are the many redesgins.

Now I have no interest in putting a home entertainment system into a car !
As my entertainment is MY CAR.
I personally think anyone who adds devices as such I question it all.

I have DVD/player type screan it's for GPS use - only reason I bought it. Does have Tv because it was free for me. But I've never really used it. I have many large LCD's and 55inch Plazma to watch TV or Movie. Why any one would watch a moive on 7inch screen. original Tv was bigger
rodhog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 12:19 AM   #17
70NYD
Veni, vidi, vici
 
70NYD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Brisbane
Car: 1996 BA Hatch & 2005 RX8
Posts: 4,911
thats what i was refering to before but just using a ?rectifier? (diode with a transistor setup) to smooth out the current comming in as thats whats in most inverters and converters to smooth out the power for the devices this way its just a little piece of PCB (or little citys as i call them ) they can be bought from JAYCAR not JBHIFI haha sorry about that
__________________
70NYD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PS2 slimline mounting position PhatAstina Audio Hi-fi 10 28-04-2006 10:56 AM
PS2 IN Protege! sOuL_323 Audio Hi-fi 18 16-07-2005 10:00 PM
who has their PS2 online? pr1mo General Automotive Talk 36 18-03-2005 08:39 PM
Need Help with PS2 install TDK Audio Hi-fi 4 05-01-2004 07:40 AM


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 09:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
2001- 2010 AstinaGT