Go Back   AstinaGT Forums > Performance & Technical > Performance & General Maintenance

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 26-09-2011, 04:24 PM   #21
Rupewrecht
Administrator
 
Rupewrecht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: melb.vic.au
Car: AZ-1, Astina Hardtop Turbo, BJ Protege, Beetle
Posts: 16,519
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavoAust View Post
What would you do with 300whp in a FWD thats not designed for that? Wheel spin & torque steer =/
Not if it's properly set up. You'll get wheelspin with any older sub-1300kg 300hp+ car no matter what wheels are driving it. Put in an LSD and it'll solve most of the traction issues (to a point).

Rabz_Rox - good on you for wanting to try something different.
If you're serious about doing this, i can put you in touch with a good workshop in SE Melb.

Another option would be a 2.5 V6 KL-ZE engine. It can be done legally in Vic - and it's been done before by a member of the forums.
__________________

jdmparts.rupewrecht.com
Sourcing your not-quite-overnight parts from Japan

WRECHT--|--SLOWTEGE--|--BEETLE--|--SUBSTITUTE--|--AZ-1


Rupewrecht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2011, 06:35 PM   #22
Rabz_Rox
Junior Member
 
Rabz_Rox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Melbourne
Car: 2002/2003 Mazda 323
Posts: 79
RUPE - Can you PM or post that SE Melb workshop, I'd be keen as to call and pick their brains. Cost is always and issue but how much fun can you have for free?!?!?

DAVO - Half the fun is trying to control Wheel Spin and Torque Steer!!!

By the way Davo, I love the Signature. Best laugh I've had today. Must say... I want to take the wall with me... all the way!!!
Rabz_Rox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-2011, 08:18 PM   #23
Rabz_Rox
Junior Member
 
Rabz_Rox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Melbourne
Car: 2002/2003 Mazda 323
Posts: 79
Just to keep you all posted, I have gone for a FS motor (2.0). This will be the starting point for things to come. I am still trying to find info about the FS-DET, as I am actually not 100% sure whether it is a DE or a ZE that my guys are droppiing into the car. So it will be interesting to find that out and what problems come with either motor!!!
Rabz_Rox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 07:33 AM   #24
project.r.racing
Senior Member
 
project.r.racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: n/a
Car: n/a
Posts: 10,925
As long as you swap the loom and ecu to FS-DE/-ZE versions, you shouldn't have issues with either.

Don't go muching arounds for months using the incorrect loom and ecu. Get it done right the 1st time and save alot of hassles.
project.r.racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 09:04 AM   #25
phildough
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Brisneyland, Queensland
Car: 2002 Mazda Frankenstina
Posts: 2,868
Quote:
Originally Posted by project.r.racing View Post
As long as you swap the loom and ecu to FS-DE/-ZE versions, you shouldn't have issues with either.

Don't go muching arounds for months using the incorrect loom and ecu. Get it done right the 1st time and save alot of hassles.
Good luck going from a fp-de to a fs-de.
It's easier to swap in a fs-ze.
There are major changes between them.
The fs-ze is much closer to the fp-de wiring wise.
The fs-de is obdii and the ze Is obd 1.
phildough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 10:59 AM   #26
Ice88
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Auchenflower, Brisbane
Car: Blue SP20
Posts: 2,782
Im wondering what there gonna do about the gearbox tbh.
__________________
Ice88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 04:50 PM   #27
Rabz_Rox
Junior Member
 
Rabz_Rox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Melbourne
Car: 2002/2003 Mazda 323
Posts: 79
Just to keep you all posted. The motor I have got is out of an SP20. It has bolted straight in without any hassles at all. ECU and everything else has gone perfectly AOK. Picking the car up tomorrow. Have given the turbo idea the flick (maybe), found out that I'd need to replace the radiator and the AC to get things to fit properly. It all just becomes a massive cost very quickly. Although I may change my mind!! If I bugger my radiator and have to replace it then I will pop in a MSP Radiator and AC unit.

Found this info on another forum. If anyone thinks its crap let me know. But so far it seems to be the best info I could find that seems reliable. So many people say yes, so many say no. Funny thing is the number of people who say yes but HAVEN'T done it!!!!

Link Here
Rabz_Rox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 04:57 PM   #28
Rabz_Rox
Junior Member
 
Rabz_Rox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Melbourne
Car: 2002/2003 Mazda 323
Posts: 79
And a Custom Kit if anyone is interested
Rabz_Rox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 05:13 PM   #29
phildough
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Brisneyland, Queensland
Car: 2002 Mazda Frankenstina
Posts: 2,868
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rabz_Rox View Post
Just to keep you all posted. The motor I have got is out of an SP20. It has bolted straight in without any hassles at all. ECU and everything else has gone perfectly AOK. Picking the car up tomorrow. Have given the turbo idea the flick (maybe), found out that I'd need to replace the radiator and the AC to get things to fit properly. It all just becomes a massive cost very quickly. Although I may change my mind!! If I bugger my radiator and have to replace it then I will pop in a MSP Radiator and AC unit.

Found this info on another forum. If anyone thinks its crap let me know. But so far it seems to be the best info I could find that seems reliable. So many people say yes, so many say no. Funny thing is the number of people who say yes but HAVEN'T done it!!!!

Link Here
I would get them to check that your car is not running it too rich as the 2.0 has much larger injectors.
phildough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 08:01 PM   #30
project.r.racing
Senior Member
 
project.r.racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: n/a
Car: n/a
Posts: 10,925
It has the FS ecu in, so should be all good. But best wait until the key is turned and the car is driven. Best test is a road test.
project.r.racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2011, 08:34 AM   #31
Rabz_Rox
Junior Member
 
Rabz_Rox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Melbourne
Car: 2002/2003 Mazda 323
Posts: 79
Car's F'ed!!!

Lean as. Now in panic mode to get it sorted.

I recall reading about an issue with the O2 sensor and the ECU!?!?!?

Anyone????
Rabz_Rox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2011, 09:05 AM   #32
phildough
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Brisneyland, Queensland
Car: 2002 Mazda Frankenstina
Posts: 2,868
Are you running the FP-DE ECU with the FS-DE motor.
If so swap fuel rails or injectors and see how you go.
phildough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2011, 12:16 PM   #33
Ice88
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Auchenflower, Brisbane
Car: Blue SP20
Posts: 2,782
What afr? What ecu? What header are you using? Did they reuse your fp or the Fs header? Did they change the 02 sensor If they swapped? What maf are you using? More info man. Seriously.
__________________

Last edited by Ice88; 03-10-2011 at 12:19 PM.
Ice88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2011, 12:43 PM   #34
phildough
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Brisneyland, Queensland
Car: 2002 Mazda Frankenstina
Posts: 2,868
Quote:
Originally Posted by project.r.racing View Post
It has the FS ecu in, so should be all good. But best wait until the key is turned and the car is driven. Best test is a road test.
No where has he said he used the FS ECU as his car was a 1.8, he just swapped in a FS-DE from what he said.
Thats what makes me think its the ECU causing it.
I swapped in a worked FS-ZE and my 1.8 ECU ran that ok but was a bit rich,
phildough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2011, 04:26 PM   #35
project.r.racing
Senior Member
 
project.r.racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: n/a
Car: n/a
Posts: 10,925
Post #27 says engine gone in AOK. Including wiring + ecu.

Last edited by project.r.racing; 03-10-2011 at 04:31 PM.
project.r.racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2011, 04:42 PM   #36
phildough
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Brisneyland, Queensland
Car: 2002 Mazda Frankenstina
Posts: 2,868
Sorry I understood that he re used his FP-DE ECU with the new engine.
Hopefully he posts up what he actually did so we can all help him, not speculate about it.
phildough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2011, 04:51 PM   #37
project.r.racing
Senior Member
 
project.r.racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: n/a
Car: n/a
Posts: 10,925
Yeah it can be read two ways now that I've re read it.
project.r.racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2011, 08:37 PM   #38
Spykey
AstinaGT Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: From Melbourne - In Sydney Now
Car: Mazda 323 SP20 TURBO
Posts: 331
Quote:
Originally Posted by smurfy View Post
niceboy put a custom turbo kit on his, think it costed him about 7k+ hes actually in melbourne too
Spykey now :P not NiCeBoY anymore lol
Spykey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2011, 08:39 PM   #39
Spykey
AstinaGT Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: From Melbourne - In Sydney Now
Car: Mazda 323 SP20 TURBO
Posts: 331
Quote:
Originally Posted by smurfy View Post
the only reason you would get booked for accelerating too fast is if you did a burnout when you took off or if its looking like your racing someone.


heres niceboy's car, hes on astinagt too but never made a project worklog for it...

http://www.ozmazdaclub.com/my-rides/...184kw-atw.html

and dappas, dont really have any info on it thoughh.
http://www.astinagt.com/forums/vbpic...?do=view&g=611
i need to build another thread here.. by the way it was a mistake there its 184 at the engine...
Spykey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2011, 10:35 PM   #40
Rabz_Rox
Junior Member
 
Rabz_Rox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Melbourne
Car: 2002/2003 Mazda 323
Posts: 79
Sorry guys, didnt mean to start a fight!!!! :P

I hadn't put a new ECU in, just reused the FP. What I meant was that it all went together AOK. Which clearly was WRONG!!!!!!

Upon doing a road test I couldn't get enough power down. She seemed to idle ok and everything else works fine (AC, Fans etc), she is just as lean as.

I'm tipping (thanks Spykey nee Niceboy) that the FP ECU is only sending enough fuel for a 1.8 Motor, where I am actually getting enough O2 for the 2.0 Motor I have now. The guys have replaced the O2 sensor and have F'd around heaps with the Fuel Rail and Injectors.

I posed that we go for a High Pressure Fuel pump and line with a regulator and try to force more fuel in that way.

The problem we have had is getting our hands on an FS ECU. Which finally arrived today. So tomorrow I will advise you all if I'm still bent over or not!!!
Rabz_Rox is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
323, engine, mazda, rebuilt, turbo

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 03:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
2001- 2010 AstinaGT