Go Back   AstinaGT Forums > AstinaGT Communities > International

Old 28-09-2006, 01:24 AM   #1
323BHP

Send a message via AIM to 323BHP Send a message via MSN to 323BHP
Hello thar, I'm new here

Hey Guys, just found this forum by accident but previously i'd been looking for a car culture for 323's so i signed up right away

Me names Matt, i'm from Surrey, UK, are there many Uk members on here?, I'm a motorsport engineering student and my new 323 will very likely find itself a testbed for what i learn :P

There's so little tuning support for the later models 94-98 but i think the cars are fantastic, i've only ever seen 2 modified ones over here, hopefully i can get some advice from you guys and share some too

I have a '96 1.5i 323 right now but i've just picked up a '98 323 Zxi 2.0l V6 , its not on the road yet as its untaxed and no MOT but in immaculate condition, except the valve lifters(we think) make a tapping sound when you lift off the throttle (any ideas), doesn't seem to affect performance but i'm getting if fixed ASAP anyway

anyways enough about me, may i hear the story from you guys? (is there alot of 323 tuning out there?, meets, shows etc)

Cya around!
323BHP is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 28-09-2006, 04:18 AM   #2
boostedbatman
Manpink Crusader

Car: 1990 GD mx6 F2T, and soon I might drive the batmoobile once again
Send a message via MSN to boostedbatman
Welcome
Yep we have a small contingent of UK members here
Your tapping sound is from your Hydraulic Lash Adjusters (HLAs)
They are lifters which use engine oil to effectively 'pump' them up to eliminate the noises of Solid Lifters and ensure smooth operation
Thay arent to expensive to have fixed (you are able to change only the worn out ones) They wear exponentially when people dont change oil often enough or run with low oil levels
Effectively however the noise is not telling you that they are stuffed BTW