Go Back   AstinaGT Forums > Performance & Technical > Audio Hi-fi

Old 13-07-2008, 10:58 PM   #1
spyder2k4

Car: 323
Budget system

I want some sort of sound system for my car. I have a head unit with one set of RCA outs. Unit came with the car. but it is aftermarket.

JB has a sale on at the moment
http://www.jbhifi.com.au/car-sound/amplifiers/
looking at the bottom one

I realise that its not the best setup in the world
but thoughts....................?
i'm not made of money(uni student) and if i could get them to swap the 6x9 for 6"s which are almost same price it could work.
If not already obvious i am new to car audio

spyder
spyder2k4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 21-07-2008, 09:19 AM   #2
RibZe

Car: BG Astina
I wouldn't recommend getting a package like this.

I ran my mates 12" pioneer sub off my 4c before i got mine and it was absolutely pointless. (Bridged to 2c of course)

I've got a cranking system and only cost me $1500 (self installation though)
Work yourself out a budget then investigate what you plan to get. If you get something **** you will regret it.

Also, in regards to JB - haggle! I got my 12" alpine type r sub in a box for $280 ($499 rrp), mind you this was during a sale aswell.

For a cheapy i'd say get 6"s for the front, 6"x9"s for the rear, no more than $100 on each. Get a HD for $150, sub and monoblock for less than $350.
That's $700! If you want a second amp for your speakers then your looking at another $200 in the equation. But i'd say just run it off your HD.

If you want to go absolute tightarse then HD = $100, speakers $50 a pair, boxed sub for $150 and monoblock for $200. That's still $550.

Do not buy Sony, Boss Audio or other no name brands.
For you i'd recommend Pioneer, Kenwood, JVC.

Save up and get something better i'd say.
RibZe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2008, 08:48 PM   #3
DavoAust

Car: Red '93 3000GT / Black '08 Ninja 250R
Send a message via MSN to DavoAust
Quote: