Go Back   AstinaGT Forums > Performance & Technical > Interior & Electrics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 15-05-2005, 09:08 PM   #1
BigMal
1ST BA TURBO MEMBER
 
BigMal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Sydney
Car: BA Astina Turbo
Posts: 4,195
Send a message via ICQ to BigMal Send a message via MSN to BigMal
Where to get Aftermarket Seat Rails for BA

Those that have fitted aftermarket seats to their BA's where did you
get rails from. Dont want dodge want proper but dont need flash under
my huge ass you'd never see em

Ta

Mal
__________________
If you want wind in your hair add a Hairdryer !!!
BigMal is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 16-05-2005, 08:39 AM   #2
pr1mo
I MUST STOP MAKING STUPID POSTS! Yet I keep on making them. And I wonder why I get banned?
 
pr1mo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: DansVille
Car: auto
Posts: 4,326
mine were custom made out of billet aluminuim. depends alot on the seat you want to fit too. dave/tonys seats were an easy fit because they sat inbetween the rails so the brackets they fitted simply went in a bit and the seats were mounted low. my recaros were a diffrent kettle of fish all together. they sat directly above the existing rails so we had to build up not in if that makes any sense.

*just went out and measured height of my rails.

The rail closest to the door i have had to raised 55mm the rail closest to the centre console i have raised 20mm. this pretty much levels out the floorplan, allows enough space for the slide lever system to function correctly and will allow you to run a flat based seat. the problem with the existing rail is that it isnt entireley flat so you have to mill out the recesses in the billet spacer as well as countersink holes for both the rail holes and seat bolt holes in 2 directions. this is the bit that takes time unfortunatley.

definetley not something you can do professionally without a milling machine but you certainly can get the ball rolling by A getting the seats you want. B establishing a plan of attack C finding an aluminuim supplier (mine had to be laser cut especially out of a slab)

hope this helps

cheers mike
pr1mo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2005, 10:11 AM   #3
Dogo
Senior Member
 
Dogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Melb, Aus
Car: Mazda 323 BA BPT transplant
Posts: 3,458
yeh on mine they are standard rails with brackets/spacers between the rail and the seat.

its one of the few parts of my car I dont have photos to show you, but can take some if u need.
__________________
[ Turbo BA ]
see my readers ride
Dogo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2005, 08:11 PM   #4
BigMal
1ST BA TURBO MEMBER
 
BigMal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Sydney
Car: BA Astina Turbo
Posts: 4,195
Send a message via ICQ to BigMal Send a message via MSN to BigMal
So are the standard rails flat I always thought they were angled.
Would way prefer standard rails and have it as low as possible
as I am not little.
__________________
If you want wind in your hair add a Hairdryer !!!
BigMal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2005, 08:20 PM   #5
Rupewrecht
Administrator
 
Rupewrecht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: melb.vic.au
Car: AZ-1, Astina Hardtop Turbo, BJ Protege, Beetle
Posts: 16,514
you can get rails specially made for recaros/bride seats from japan for the BA but they're about $180 ea (pre postage/shipping etc)
__________________

jdmparts.rupewrecht.com
Sourcing your not-quite-overnight parts from Japan

WRECHT--|--SLOWTEGE--|--BEETLE--|--SUBSTITUTE--|--AZ-1


Rupewrecht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2005, 08:59 PM   #6
pr1mo
I MUST STOP MAKING STUPID POSTS! Yet I keep on making them. And I wonder why I get banned?
 
pr1mo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: DansVille
Car: auto
Posts: 4,326
the standard rails arent dead flat. your could probarbly file the rails a bit but i wouldnt recomend it hence i modded the spacer to suit
pr1mo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2005, 02:32 AM   #7
BigMal
1ST BA TURBO MEMBER
 
BigMal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Sydney
Car: BA Astina Turbo
Posts: 4,195
Send a message via ICQ to BigMal Send a message via MSN to BigMal
Nah no filing for me. How simple a spacer, any pics would be appreciated.
A 35mm spacer with longer bolts sounds not out of my league.
__________________
If you want wind in your hair add a Hairdryer !!!
BigMal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2005, 08:12 AM   #8
pr1mo
I MUST STOP MAKING STUPID POSTS! Yet I keep on making them. And I wonder why I get banned?
 
pr1mo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: DansVille
Car: auto
Posts: 4,326
yeah i understand what your saying there mal. a 35mm spacer on just the door trim side of your rail and no spacer on the centre console side will work provided that the seat you buy doesnt interfere with the slider mechanisim on the centre console side.

if this is the case then i can probarbly arrange a set of blank spacers which have been milled to suit the rail. all youd have todo is get someone with a bench drill to finish off the job. all my allen key holes were recessed/countersunk in both directions








im pretty sure those 2 little blips near the fabric is where 2 bolt holes have gone up into the recaro. the alloy has had a thread cut in it to bolt the spacer onto the rail. if i recall correctly i had todo a small about of milling on the centre console side rail spacer as there was a spring anchor in the way.


cheers mike

Last edited by pr1mo; 17-05-2005 at 09:26 AM.
pr1mo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2005, 09:09 AM   #9
Dogo
Senior Member
 
Dogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Melb, Aus
Car: Mazda 323 BA BPT transplant
Posts: 3,458
i'll take some of mine for you.
__________________
[ Turbo BA ]
see my readers ride
Dogo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-05-2005, 02:45 AM   #10
BigMal
1ST BA TURBO MEMBER
 
BigMal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Sydney
Car: BA Astina Turbo
Posts: 4,195
Send a message via ICQ to BigMal Send a message via MSN to BigMal
Please do without pulling the seat out an looking at the moment I cant
visualise how it needs to go.

Ta

Mal
__________________
If you want wind in your hair add a Hairdryer !!!
BigMal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-05-2005, 07:50 AM   #11
BigBoyLemonade
The Architect
 
BigBoyLemonade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 1998
Location: Canberra, ACT
Car: AUSDM S6 RX7
Posts: 1,600
Send a message via ICQ to BigBoyLemonade
Hey Mal,

Dave's seats are along the same lines as Mikey's. we just used a steel spacer. The engineer passed it and said thats better than some factory seats.

I would get something made by a metal fabricator as it will be strong. You have to engineer aftermarket seats even if you use bought rails.
__________________
Tony
Formally known as Lantis and Xedos



Infinite Networks- Creative Web design and powerful online application solutions
BigBoyLemonade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-05-2005, 03:25 PM   #12
pr1mo
I MUST STOP MAKING STUPID POSTS! Yet I keep on making them. And I wonder why I get banned?
 
pr1mo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: DansVille
Car: auto
Posts: 4,326
pr1mo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2005, 11:20 AM   #13
BigMal
1ST BA TURBO MEMBER
 
BigMal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Sydney
Car: BA Astina Turbo
Posts: 4,195
Send a message via ICQ to BigMal Send a message via MSN to BigMal
Will let you know what happens. I have been eyeing off some seats on ebay
but need to wait for the bill from swapping Jynx's motor into my car and see
how much is left over. But if you guys already know somebody will go through
you save the 'You wanna do what into what" look from people getting a bit
tired of it nowadays.
__________________
If you want wind in your hair add a Hairdryer !!!
BigMal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2005, 11:45 AM   #14
pr1mo
I MUST STOP MAKING STUPID POSTS! Yet I keep on making them. And I wonder why I get banned?
 
pr1mo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: DansVille
Car: auto
Posts: 4,326
fair enough mate. cheers mike

Last edited by pr1mo; 30-05-2007 at 04:56 PM.
pr1mo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2005, 02:23 PM   #15
BigMal
1ST BA TURBO MEMBER
 
BigMal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Sydney
Car: BA Astina Turbo
Posts: 4,195
Send a message via ICQ to BigMal Send a message via MSN to BigMal
Yes being a Full Grown I need to be carefull with seat selection
__________________
If you want wind in your hair add a Hairdryer !!!
BigMal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2006, 01:16 PM   #16
pr1mo
I MUST STOP MAKING STUPID POSTS! Yet I keep on making them. And I wonder why I get banned?
 
pr1mo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: DansVille
Car: auto
Posts: 4,326
any joy with seats yet mal?

cheers mike
pr1mo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2006, 02:09 PM   #17
Cosmo Dude
コスモ
 
Cosmo Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Location: Vic
Car: Mazda '95 Astina I4, '86 B2K and '10 3 MZR-CD
Posts: 7,884
You have to be careful with seats. A few weeks ago I pushed the 929 too hard through an unfamiliar corner, slid into a bump which threw me as far out of the seat that the belts would allow. I came down on the side bolster, broke the seat and bruised my ribs on the right side, last week I competed the job and did my left side. At least I know how long it takes for the pain to go away
__________________
My 'stina Hatch
Cosmo Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2006, 02:19 PM   #18
pr1mo
I MUST STOP MAKING STUPID POSTS! Yet I keep on making them. And I wonder why I get banned?
 
pr1mo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: DansVille
Car: auto
Posts: 4,326
yowch! 4 point harness required there rod :P
pr1mo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2006, 03:01 PM   #19
Cosmo Dude
コスモ
 
Cosmo Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Location: Vic
Car: Mazda '95 Astina I4, '86 B2K and '10 3 MZR-CD
Posts: 7,884
Quote:
Originally Posted by pr1mo
yowch! 4 point harness required there rod :P
Ummmm, no.
I was practicing drifting and those are the consequences. If it weren't for the rain I'd be swapping the seat out ATM. I like the rain but know the seat isn't going to last too much longer 'cos it's sitting hard on the seatbelt bracket.
__________________
My 'stina Hatch
Cosmo Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Seat help Plutonus Interior & Electrics 2 05-02-2007 08:26 PM
Rocking seat JynX Interior & Electrics 20 14-02-2004 12:29 PM


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 08:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
2001- 2010 AstinaGT