Go Back   AstinaGT Forums > Performance & Technical > Audio Hi-fi

Old 24-08-2006, 05:30 PM   #1
xxplosiv

Send a message via MSN to xxplosiv
Post How do I install a noise suppressor?

Recently I've bought some 6x9 speakers to be used with my 4 channel amp (2 of the channels are bridged and go to the sub) but when I hook up the 6x9s and turn on the engine I hear a high pitched squeeling noise that goes in time to the engines revs. I told the folks at Repco and they gave me a noise suppressor, which is basiccally some kind of capacitor with a metal body and a lug coming off it, then a short wire coming out the middle of it with a fork lug on the end. How do I install this?

I'm an electrical apprentice and I asked one of the electricians at work and he said to screw the capacitor part to the chassis of the car, and join the wire that comes out with the positive wire that goes into the alternator. A few things, how do I know which wire to join it with (its pretty cramped in there) and is this even the right way? I really need some clarity on this so I can start enjoying my stereo! Any help would be greatly appreciated
xxplosiv is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 24-08-2006, 06:46 PM   #2
mrpayner

Car: 2013 Mazda 6 GT Sedan - Soul Red
Doesn't that noise mean that something hasn't been grounded properly? Go back to the headunit and ensure that everything is grounded and if you're sure, add another grounding point to be doubly sure..

2013 Mazda6 Diesel GT ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------[Formerly] 2004 Mazda6 Luxury Sport
mrpayner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2006, 09:06 PM   #3
chipa
Crazy Member

Car: FPV F6 Typhoon
Can be bad grounding, running the cables in a bad fashion (low voltage rca's near power is a big one). And then it could even be induced all the way from the head unit.