Go Back   AstinaGT Forums > Performance & Technical > Performance & General Maintenance

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 15-06-2012, 06:08 PM   #1
benz609
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Australia
Car: Mazda 323 Astina
Posts: 4
Headlights don't work after bulb replacement

Hi all,

I noticed a broken bulb on my Mazda 323 Astina from 1996 and I tried to change it.
Now, none of the low beam and high beam work anymore (they were all working fine before except the broken one of course), the parking lights work.
On the dashboard, when I switch the lights on, it "lights up" the dashboard but when I put the high beams, the blue light doesn't show up anymore...
The back lights worh perfectly still.

What I did: I checked which bulbs it was (easy, it's written on the headlight: h1 for high beam, h3 for low beam), and before I went to the shop, I wanted to get the broken bulb out (just to make sure I bought the correct one). I followed the instructions in the book, pretty simple and done it before. When I got back in the car, tried to switch the lights on... Problem related above. I also baught and replaced the fuse for the headlights (60A, same position etc).
To tell everything, I also took off a h1 bulb (I wanted to get brighter ones).

I am sorry if somebody already had this problem and resolved it on this forum, I couldn't fnid it.

Thanks for your help in advance.
benz609 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 16-06-2012, 07:45 AM   #2
project.r.racing
Senior Member
 
project.r.racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: n/a
Car: n/a
Posts: 10,929
put the old fuse back in.
project.r.racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2012, 08:46 AM   #3
JDM323
Senior Member
 
JDM323's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: North Qld
Car: 2002 BJ2 protege
Posts: 1,241
Send a message via ICQ to JDM323
check fuses and relays under the bonnet.
JDM323 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2012, 05:20 PM   #4
benz609
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Australia
Car: Mazda 323 Astina
Posts: 4
Thanks both of you for your answers.

I actually changed the fuse after I noticed the failure of the lights, but I tried again with the old one (it doesn't cost anything...) and it still doesn't work.

When you talk about relays, it's actually the "plugs" right?


I tried to unplug it and replug it, seem fine... And there are two so only 1 side would have gone off right? Or are there other ones that are not obvious?

Thanks again for your help

Last edited by benz609; 16-06-2012 at 05:24 PM.
benz609 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2012, 07:23 PM   #5
Clean_Cookie
obsessed-incomplete-broke
 
Clean_Cookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Brisbane
Car: BA Hardtop/Hatch
Posts: 5,441
relays are little (generally) black (generally) boxes like this:

located in the cabin of the car. they are the things you can hear when you turn your lights/indicators on. they go click etc.
__________________
Worklog
Clean_Cookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2012, 07:25 PM   #6
Clean_Cookie
obsessed-incomplete-broke
 
Clean_Cookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Brisbane
Car: BA Hardtop/Hatch
Posts: 5,441
if you have a multimeter, check the voltage at the pins on the plug you took a photo of. this will tell you if the fuses/etc are working. no voltage = electrical problem.
__________________
Worklog
Clean_Cookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2012, 07:41 AM   #7
JDM323
Senior Member
 
JDM323's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: North Qld
Car: 2002 BJ2 protege
Posts: 1,241
Send a message via ICQ to JDM323
have you checked the switch?
JDM323 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2012, 03:54 PM   #8
benz609
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Australia
Car: Mazda 323 Astina
Posts: 4
Thanks again for all your suggestions. I think you made a point with the relays, there is no little "tick" sound anymore when I turn the lights on... And it would make sens why the blue light doesn't work on the dashboard anymore I guess?
I don't have a multimeter unfortunately, and I couldn't figure out where the relays were, and since I wouldn't know what to do even if I could find it...
By switch you mean the stick we turn to put the lights on? It seems to work since the parking lights and the back lights also work (both parking and "road" lights)
I will bring the car to the garage tomorrow, I have to do some road at night on Tuesday. I thought it would have been an easy thing to fix with your knowledge, but it stops where mine ends, so almost at the beginning...

I will come back anyway to tell what the garage said, if it can help somebody else... Thanks a lot guys.
benz609 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2012, 04:49 PM   #9
Clean_Cookie
obsessed-incomplete-broke
 
Clean_Cookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Brisbane
Car: BA Hardtop/Hatch
Posts: 5,441
It would be in the passengers footwell. Hard to identify without a multimeter. Light on dash won't work without the relay, as you said.
__________________
Worklog
Clean_Cookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2012, 05:09 PM   #10
project.r.racing
Senior Member
 
project.r.racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: n/a
Car: n/a
Posts: 10,929
they are not between the driver side strut top and the firewall?
project.r.racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2012, 06:31 PM   #11
Clean_Cookie
obsessed-incomplete-broke
 
Clean_Cookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Brisbane
Car: BA Hardtop/Hatch
Posts: 5,441
well Im not 100% but I hear the click come from the passengers side when i turn the lights on so>?
__________________
Worklog
Clean_Cookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2012, 08:27 AM   #12
project.r.racing
Senior Member
 
project.r.racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: n/a
Car: n/a
Posts: 10,929
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clean_Cookie View Post
well Im not 100% but I hear the click come from the passengers side when i turn the lights on so>?
depends if you got the fog light relay in there or not maybe?
project.r.racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2012, 08:54 AM   #13
Clean_Cookie
obsessed-incomplete-broke
 
Clean_Cookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Brisbane
Car: BA Hardtop/Hatch
Posts: 5,441
Possibly. I know that's in the footwell. I can confirm today when i look at the removed looms.
__________________
Worklog
Clean_Cookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2012, 08:46 PM   #14
benz609
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Australia
Car: Mazda 323 Astina
Posts: 4
Hello all,

I got it repaired and it was cheap, it took 15 min to someone who knows...

What happened it that when I undid the protection behind the bulbs, a wire that has been damaged by time and heat (according to the garage) lost its insulation and created a short circuit. Of course when I changed the fuse, same thing happened again...
They fixed it, changed the fuse the other h3 that was also broken by that time ($6, less than in the shop...) for $75...

I can travel at night tomorrow and it saved me from touching stuff I had no idea about...

Thanks again for your suggestions and your help!
benz609 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2012, 09:08 PM   #15
Clean_Cookie
obsessed-incomplete-broke
 
Clean_Cookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Brisbane
Car: BA Hardtop/Hatch
Posts: 5,441
glad it worked out for you!
__________________
Worklog
Clean_Cookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
headlights

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 08:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
2001- 2010 AstinaGT