Go Back   AstinaGT Forums > Performance & Technical > Forced Induction & Engine Conversions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 22-06-2006, 09:22 PM   #1
illusivedreams
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Sydney East
Posts: 59
Send a message via MSN to illusivedreams
Exclamation Ba Engine Swap KL-ZE Or Kl Australian Photos Added

Hey guys as my engine is not so good. I have gone against a complete rebuil which I had quotes at $3000+

Im looking at a KL-ZE swap I currently have a BA 2L hardtop

I have a company bringing my motor tomorrow the NEw KL

What else do I need Engine Mounts ?

Mr Mx 6 saya I need=====the intermediate drive shaft has a mount with 3 holes on the kl and only 2 on the kf..

Anything else..

For people who have done this Im all ears...

If the engine comes in tomorrow Im commited so any advice is appreiated and valued....Cheers vadim

What is the procedure after i have the motor i meen Am i looking at a slot it job? Or something more?

Last edited by illusivedreams; 23-06-2006 at 04:39 PM.
illusivedreams is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 22-06-2006, 09:29 PM   #2
CHiMPY
mew?
 
CHiMPY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: The winnar is SYDNEY
Car: one with 4 wheels...
Posts: 784
Send a message via ICQ to CHiMPY
Paging Batman to thread #6918
__________________

"Verily, thou shalt not take unto thine heart any words spoken by the Luser, for I say unto thee, their mouths spout naught but excrement."
CHiMPY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-06-2006, 09:42 PM   #3
illusivedreams
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Sydney East
Posts: 59
Send a message via MSN to illusivedreams
Come on boys ...I have read alot of the threads through history here but really interested some who has done it or doint it so I understand the details...



KLZE may be tomorrow? If not what do you reckon about the KL-Australian>?
Easier? any ideas
illusivedreams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-06-2006, 09:47 PM   #4
CHiMPY
mew?
 
CHiMPY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: The winnar is SYDNEY
Car: one with 4 wheels...
Posts: 784
Send a message via ICQ to CHiMPY
umm.. wait for boostedbatman to wake up and see this thread. he is in the process of a klze (if its still classified as a klze) swap in his hardtop.
__________________

"Verily, thou shalt not take unto thine heart any words spoken by the Luser, for I say unto thee, their mouths spout naught but excrement."
CHiMPY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2006, 04:17 AM   #5
boostedbatman
Manpink Crusader
 
boostedbatman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Stafford, Brisbane
Car: 1990 GD mx6 F2T, and soon I might drive the batmoobile once again
Posts: 2,280
Send a message via MSN to boostedbatman
Dont expect you loom sensors to match and you will need another ECU
Engine mounts are the same
your Intermediate shaft should fit as it has the holes that arent used on the KF alredy on it well 2 anyway and you just need to drill the 3rd but its already marked
You may find that the different KL-ZEs have different EGR sensors and mine has none so this may cause some fabrication for you but not too difficult

I believe you have a hardtop so you should have bonnet clearance
I will need to know which KL-ZE you have before I can assist further
Millenia or MX6, straight or curve neck Intake Manifold
Enjoy 200hp of grunt and 223Nm of torque
Any other Qs then PM me and I will assist you and If you need a mobile number for a 'phone a friend option' then I will pass it on
Good luck and congrats on your decision
boostedbatman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2006, 02:53 PM   #6
illusivedreams
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Sydney East
Posts: 59
Send a message via MSN to illusivedreams
Hey guys I got the Motor its not a Kl-ZE.

The motor seems to be from a GE626

The engine number is KL630136

Does this help...

Will the Kl-03 be easier to fit than the ZE....

I will take some pictures and post up here...

Does the Kl in the engine number indicate KL sereis motor....


Cheers vadim
illusivedreams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2006, 07:46 PM   #8
Cincinnatus
Nate Dog
 
Cincinnatus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sydney
Car: Dah!
Posts: 539
Havin done a bit of research, i think you'll find it's the 170 HP KL that wasn't Jap delivered. The only 2 KL's with a curved Intake Manifold are either the 200Hp Jap spec or the 170Hp Aus/American delivered.
Check this out chum.

http://images.google.com/imgres?imgu...NA:en%26sa%3DN

Should be a nice little preformer, seems like it's the next one in line after the 200Hp Jap baby. Almost the same Torque too.
Cincinnatus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2006, 10:02 PM   #9
illusivedreams
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Sydney East
Posts: 59
Send a message via MSN to illusivedreams
Japanese: Eunos 800: aka Pre-2000 Millenias

KLZE

I have spent the better part of the day trying to work ou what the hell it is ....

But I think above info is my lets hope Im right KLZE 200HP
illusivedreams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2006, 06:52 AM   #10
boostedbatman
Manpink Crusader
 
boostedbatman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Stafford, Brisbane
Car: 1990 GD mx6 F2T, and soon I might drive the batmoobile once again
Posts: 2,280
Send a message via MSN to boostedbatman
Well youve come to the right place to find out
And I have some BAD news for you









Its from a JDM 626
And the square Intake runners stipulate that the Heads should be Marked above the Intake Ports KL31-1A1 and KL31-101
Which is in fact a





KL-ZE 200hp with KL01 cams
Exactly the same as mine
Exactly the same engine as the Millenia/Eunos 800
Nice find
Hope you got a good price on it
Here is a pic of the head code on the Left Head
First Thumbnail pic

Last edited by boostedbatman; 24-06-2006 at 08:01 AM.
boostedbatman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2006, 07:26 AM   #11
illusivedreams
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Sydney East
Posts: 59
Send a message via MSN to illusivedreams
Mazing how you can see all this does the KL at the begining of engine numbe refer to model ie Kl-ZE..

Boost...If you ever have time to do a complete instruction manual on the transplant...

I will add information to it and help the NSW side do the same.....

Also what is a good price for this ,,,,Has genuine Mazda oil filter could be really good or bad news

What service should be done on the motor

Timing Belt
Water Pump
Alternator belt

Rocker cover gaskets?

Anythinf else apart from new oil and filter


Cheers Vadim

Last edited by illusivedreams; 24-06-2006 at 07:33 AM.
illusivedreams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2006, 10:15 AM   #12
chicaboo
Senior Member
 
chicaboo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Logan prefecture
Car: Touge monster
Posts: 7,585
Good find Vadim, we can't wait to see how you go with that!
chicaboo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2006, 12:40 PM   #13
illusivedreams
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Sydney East
Posts: 59
Send a message via MSN to illusivedreams
EOI .Motor is for sale as no longer keeping the car.

Last edited by illusivedreams; 24-07-2006 at 11:12 PM.
illusivedreams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-2006, 01:52 AM   #14
Mr.Obsessed
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Dk
Car: 323F KLZE
Posts: 62
So glad I found this site am glad that am not the only one swapping.

I have 323f BA v6 model from 95. The old tired v6 engine started to burn oil and instead of selling the car or rebuilding it i decided to swap it for KL-ZE engine. I got straight neck one.

Lets just say the car runs like Sh......

But I have a lot of questions. 1 the most important what did you do with the VAF connections batman??? I got KL31 ecu with JE50 VAF and I just got an mx3 plug for the VAF... ZE has also 5 connections as FZ but have you got any wiring diagrams for it??now the car is on KFZE setup.

Any help or suggestions would be appreciated thanks.
Mr.Obsessed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2006, 10:13 PM   #15
Mr.Obsessed
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Dk
Car: 323F KLZE
Posts: 62
lol anybody?? if you did the swap somebody must have come across this problem???
Mr.Obsessed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2006, 05:56 AM   #16
boostedbatman
Manpink Crusader
 
boostedbatman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Stafford, Brisbane
Car: 1990 GD mx6 F2T, and soon I might drive the batmoobile once again
Posts: 2,280
Send a message via MSN to boostedbatman
Some of us who do this swap choose to use an aftermarket ECU (eg:Microtech) where neither MAF or VAF are required
Here are some wiring diagrams from the KF engine and you may need to get a wiring diagram from the states to suit the VAF, check out www.probetalk.com and ask them for the wiring diagram for the VAF and you should then be able to sort it out by just soldering the right wires together if you have the VAF clip
http://www.astinagt.com/reference/BA...-3a_KF_ECS.jpg
http://www.astinagt.com/reference/BA...-3b_KF_ECS.jpg
http://www.astinagt.com/reference/BA...-3c_KF_ECS.jpg
boostedbatman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2006, 06:59 PM   #17
Mr.Obsessed
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Dk
Car: 323F KLZE
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by boostedbatman
Some of us who do this swap choose to use an aftermarket ECU (eg:Microtech) where neither MAF or VAF are required
Here are some wiring diagrams from the KF engine and you may need to get a wiring diagram from the states to suit the VAF, check out www.probetalk.com and ask them for the wiring diagram for the VAF and you should then be able to sort it out by just soldering the right wires together if you have the VAF clip
http://www.astinagt.com/reference/BA...-3a_KF_ECS.jpg
http://www.astinagt.com/reference/BA...-3b_KF_ECS.jpg
http://www.astinagt.com/reference/BA...-3c_KF_ECS.jpg
thanks for this... just a thought i can get a complete wiring from an 94 mx3 wouldent it be easier just tu rip the old one out and use the one from mx3 its identical to kl31/36 ecu...? and what do you do with the brake pump??

Last edited by Mr.Obsessed; 22-07-2006 at 07:02 PM.
Mr.Obsessed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2006, 08:32 PM   #18
Cosmo Dude
コスモ
 
Cosmo Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Location: Vic
Car: Mazda '95 Astina I4, '86 B2K and '10 3 MZR-CD
Posts: 7,888
Just spit balling...
Why not use the Astina ECU , distributor and AFM?
This would avoid a lot of modification and speculation. The AFM would recognise the increased air flow, the distributor would provide the spark as it should and in closed loop the ECU would learn the new settings with the help of the EGO.
May even save a few bucks on the way.
__________________
My 'stina Hatch
Cosmo Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2006, 12:26 AM   #19
Mr.Obsessed
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Dk
Car: 323F KLZE
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cosmo Dude
Just spit balling...
Why not use the Astina ECU , distributor and AFM?
This would avoid a lot of modification and speculation. The AFM would recognise the increased air flow, the distributor would provide the spark as it should and in closed loop the ECU would learn the new settings with the help of the EGO.
May even save a few bucks on the way.
But i diden't know if there were other solutions.... AMF???EGO???

thanks
Mr.Obsessed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2006, 03:54 AM   #20
boostedbatman
Manpink Crusader
 
boostedbatman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Stafford, Brisbane
Car: 1990 GD mx6 F2T, and soon I might drive the batmoobile once again
Posts: 2,280
Send a message via MSN to boostedbatman
Astina ECU has the VRIS points at the wrong settings and wont take full benefit from the engine
boostedbatman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
help for engine swap! astina97 Forced Induction & Engine Conversions 17 29-05-2006 08:21 PM
Where to start on an engine swap? skippy Forced Induction & Engine Conversions 14 28-01-2005 11:14 PM
A bunch of questions for you all shojun Performance & General Maintenance 12 02-12-2004 12:15 PM
Engine Swap Abaddon36 Performance & General Maintenance 3 24-09-2004 07:19 PM
ATTN - Anyone looking to do the 2.5L V6 Engine swap... Chronos Performance & General Maintenance 8 29-04-2003 06:26 PM


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 12:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
2001- 2010 AstinaGT