Go Back   AstinaGT Forums > Performance & Technical > Forced Induction & Engine Conversions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-09-2006, 06:57 AM   #1
Mr.Obsessed
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Dk
Car: 323F KLZE
Posts: 62
ABOUT: Straight neck KLZE fits into a BA V6

Just want to say that the engine is in and straight neck fits in BA with minor modifications to intake and throttle/pulley..spread the word I used pulley form mx3 v6... no modifications needed to engine mounts but you could make new hole 1-1,5 cm lower in front engine mount and pull it forwards in that way you can get more space so millennia or eunos or whatever intake manifold is not needed.

Last edited by Mr.Obsessed; 05-09-2006 at 08:10 AM.
Mr.Obsessed is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 03-09-2006, 07:46 AM   #2
boostedbatman
Manpink Crusader
 
boostedbatman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Stafford, Brisbane
Car: 1990 GD mx6 F2T, and soon I might drive the batmoobile once again
Posts: 2,280
Send a message via MSN to boostedbatman
Glad to hear its in
BTW whoever said the Millenia manifold was lower than the straight neck??
boostedbatman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2006, 12:52 PM   #3
project.r.racing
Senior Member
 
project.r.racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: n/a
Car: n/a
Posts: 10,929
i require pics now!!! jkz
project.r.racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2006, 01:12 PM   #4
kfze
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Kuala Lumpur
Car: CBAEP with KFZE
Posts: 72
Send a message via Yahoo to kfze
Mr Obsessed, a pix would be highly appreciated.

A lot of interested ppl here.

Cheers !
kfze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2006, 04:52 PM   #5
Mr.Obsessed
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Dk
Car: 323F KLZE
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by boostedbatman
Glad to hear its in
BTW whoever said the Millenia manifold was lower than the straight neck??
My experience showed me that you shouldnít believe everything what ppl say on the net there are some retards that don't know what they talk about.. I also bought the curved neck so me and my friend we F... around with it for no reason on his car... just waste of money and time... and performance?

I filled my engine mounts with this product

http://www.henkel-lim.dk/dk/productDetail.php?recid=367

The black one and the engine is rock solid.. IT WORKS. Just to be shore that it doesnít bang on internals in the back of the car.

I also was scared that the bonnet would not close (heard it on the forums) it closed with NO problems there is like 1.5-2 centimetres to the rod that goes over the engine to the shocks.. I forgot what its called in English ...
I was so tired last night worked for 9 hours straight so the last thing i thought about was taking the pictures I will take some in short time don't worry

I began on electric also connected most sensors. Just curious what did ppl do with the EGR stuff? The sensor and the pipe that goes to the back header it does not exists on ZE its something to do with recirculation to lower emissions right.. so can I pass emissions test without it?
Mr.Obsessed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2006, 03:54 AM   #6
boostedbatman
Manpink Crusader
 
boostedbatman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Stafford, Brisbane
Car: 1990 GD mx6 F2T, and soon I might drive the batmoobile once again
Posts: 2,280
Send a message via MSN to boostedbatman
JUst remember that the curved neck flows better than the straight neck and also shifts you torque band a bit lower (more bottom end is always a good thing)
your rod from top of shocks is a strut brace
And the EGR lines up to the back and underneath the curved neck manifold, I would assume this to be the same on the straight neck
boostedbatman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2006, 04:20 AM   #7
Mr.Obsessed
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Dk
Car: 323F KLZE
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by boostedbatman
JUst remember that the curved neck flows better than the straight neck and also shifts you torque band a bit lower (more bottom end is always a good thing)
Can you back that up with some proof/data?

As I said donít believe everything you read on the net.

No there is no egr on straight neck.
Mr.Obsessed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2006, 03:31 AM   #8
boostedbatman
Manpink Crusader
 
boostedbatman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Stafford, Brisbane
Car: 1990 GD mx6 F2T, and soon I might drive the batmoobile once again
Posts: 2,280
Send a message via MSN to boostedbatman
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Obsessed
Can you back that up with some proof/data?

As I said donít believe everything you read on the net.

No there is no egr on straight neck.
http://www.alljapanesecars.com/specs...6&mc=ge5s&gn=1
http://www.alljapanesecars.com/specs...0&mc=ta5y&gn=1
Is that good enough for you
Taken from http://www.alljapanesecars.com
boostedbatman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2006, 08:07 AM   #9
Mr.Obsessed
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Dk
Car: 323F KLZE
Posts: 62
Sorry but no. This is Old-Old discussion that has taken place several times on mx6.com and probetalk.com. With no result at the end. I personally think the difference is in software manual/auto. Maybe we are all right.. who knows only Mazda does. We are all guessing. The thing I know that some dude from mx3.com build high revving ZE and had problems with curved neck so better flow dunno... But the differences are so small even if there are some itís irrelevant even to discuss this

For ppl waiting on the pics I will take some when I go back to the garage to finish work around exhaust, bore holes and fit axles etc. That will be friday hope to fire it up that day

For now here are some pics i took during the swap







Japanese extern disty



Rebuild euro disty with headers



Performance headers (There was problems when installing... front header should not be munted when dropping the engine in the car)



Old tired engine it looks so small and sad compared to ZE



There is a big hole in my car



Modified pulley to overcome space probs... sorry for the quality i had makro acivated on my cam lol



Difference between the 2 mx3 vs ZE. ZE's pulley bangs against the pump/container.



A little adjustment here on the pump.. it must be bent a bit and it slides in no problems.. 15 sec. job.



Thats all for now

Last edited by Mr.Obsessed; 05-09-2006 at 08:55 AM.
Mr.Obsessed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2006, 06:07 AM   #10
Mr.Obsessed
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Dk
Car: 323F KLZE
Posts: 62
Here it is. I fired it up today for 20 sec run's ok.. but I have some VRIS and vacum problems as there are differences. Someone got system layout for 2.0 V6?? Vacum and/or VRIS?

Some pics





Tell me what you think? But I am far from finished...
Mr.Obsessed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2006, 05:58 AM   #11
boostedbatman
Manpink Crusader
 
boostedbatman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Stafford, Brisbane
Car: 1990 GD mx6 F2T, and soon I might drive the batmoobile once again
Posts: 2,280
Send a message via MSN to boostedbatman
Why does it look like an incorrectly installed throttle cable in the last pic
We dont have clearance issues wth the Brake Master cylinder here as ours is on the drivers side
boostedbatman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2006, 06:03 AM   #12
Mr.Obsessed
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Dk
Car: 323F KLZE
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by boostedbatman
Why does it look like an incorrectly installed throttle cable in the last pic
We dont have clearance issues wth the Brake Master cylinder here as ours is on the drivers side
I fabricated the system for the throttle cable.. I had to raise it abit to make it open 100%

Oh yes I forgot that makes it even easier
Mr.Obsessed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2006, 09:03 AM   #13
Dogo
Senior Member
 
Dogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Melb, Aus
Car: Mazda 323 BA BPT transplant
Posts: 3,459
i probably have the system layout in the workshop manual.

but im moving house at the moment so it'll be a while before I dig my way through to the box that its in
__________________
[ Turbo BA ]
see my readers ride
Dogo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2006, 10:12 PM   #14
FLiP
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North Parramatta, NSW
Car: 2005 Polo GTi
Posts: 198
Send a message via MSN to FLiP
That engine is freakin' sweet. If you've fitted it into a BAV6 will it fit in the 1.8? Or is that wishful thinking? I'm assuming the engine mounts are the same? But maybe i assumed wrong.
FLiP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-2006, 04:47 PM   #15
boostedbatman
Manpink Crusader
 
boostedbatman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Stafford, Brisbane
Car: 1990 GD mx6 F2T, and soon I might drive the batmoobile once again
Posts: 2,280
Send a message via MSN to boostedbatman
All the same through the K series engines (are you talking K8 v6 BTW)
4 cyl is a different kettle of fish
boostedbatman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-2006, 05:08 PM   #16
FLiP
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North Parramatta, NSW
Car: 2005 Polo GTi
Posts: 198
Send a message via MSN to FLiP
I'm confused.

Mr. Obsessed has put a KL-ZE 2.5L V6 in BA Astina 2.0L hatch. I wanna put the same engine into my BA 1.8 hatch. Has it been done before? Is it possible? The two cars are very similar, but are the engine mounts the same?

Thanks.
FLiP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-2006, 05:23 PM   #17
Mr.Obsessed
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Dk
Car: 323F KLZE
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by FLiP
I'm confused.

Mr. Obsessed has put a KL-ZE 2.5L V6 in BA Astina 2.0L hatch. I wanna put the same engine into my BA 1.8 hatch. Has it been done before? Is it possible? The two cars are very similar, but are the engine mounts the same?

Thanks.
No.. the 2 cars 1.8 and v6 only share same chassis thatís it...It would be cheaper/smarter to get an v6 and take it from there. If not you must change the whole brake system/wiring/tranny etc.
Mr.Obsessed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-2006, 05:33 PM   #18
skitz
I'm not as dumb as my posts would indicate
 
skitz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: jerrabomberra N.S.W (A.C.T)
Car: astina ba 97
Posts: 1,245
Send a message via MSN to skitz
there must be stuff we can do to the stock 1.8 engine to mod it(other then turbo etc) then to pull some more out???

or is it just best to buy the V6 all round??
__________________
Enjoying the new Skitz Effect:

09 Mazda RX-8 GT

Wakefield Park: 1:14.8100

skitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-2006, 05:54 PM   #19
Dogo
Senior Member
 
Dogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Melb, Aus
Car: Mazda 323 BA BPT transplant
Posts: 3,459
when buying a BA astina, the difference in price of the second hand models is so small its makes the v6 the best buy in my opinion.

there is plenty you can do with the 4cyl to get more power out. The question really is - is it worth the price ?
__________________
[ Turbo BA ]
see my readers ride
Dogo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2006, 03:45 AM   #20
rodhog
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sydney Lakemba
Car: mx-6 626 Gs300 Maz2 was 95 KF BA-HT
Posts: 2,024
You should actually put it down too. Do want turbo or not.

Because simpley once you bolt in the largest most powerfull N/A v6 the 2.5L Ze - where do you go to get more ? - yes I know you will say this that this and that but, How much for Cam's ECU - how much gain. Not many V6's going N/A making much more then 220HP flywheel. Most problery onyl making 210HP flywheel here in Australia.
with what 250NM ?
Now with the BP you giving away an easy 700cc or so. but using the BPT you easliy get the torque with an exhaust fitted.
But once you get 220HP out of the BPT at flywheel which is not much really for BPT.
When you do go further which has been done and is easily achived. you do run into a common problem ?

GEARBOX. which even with 220HP at the flywheel you would have run into by then or maybe not so but you will do so

Now you might say yeah but V6 is cheaper - IS IT ?
no conversion is cheap.
I've mostly only been on RWd conversion with the odd FWD here and there but in most cases i've always said why not buy it in the first place.

for example cost a of BA v6 versus GE Mx-6/626. if you want a KL-ZE the Mx-6 626 is much easier swap and - the weight penltey on 626 hatch is not much (Mx-6 is alot lighter) especially if you add in the fact you move up to a nicer bigger car versus the BA. I have BA sorry they are cheap in comaprisson to the 626 series. Even the older 626 has much better feel, but yet old.
but look at the current 2nd hand prices,

I'm not putting down anyone doing it. In fact I say GOOD ON YA.

If I had the time and was not restricted to turbo only ( I'm stuck with turbo or V8)
Well I might do it. but as I don't use the Astina, I bought it for my mother to use. I t can stay but I do look out for a KL-ZE auto package.

Next thing Supercharge it or if you want Turbo the bastard
rodhog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Microtech LT for KLZE kfze Forced Induction & Engine Conversions 1 13-10-2006 07:41 AM
Space prob with straight neck ZE?? Mr.Obsessed Forced Induction & Engine Conversions 25 02-08-2006 09:36 PM
Swapping KLZE throttle Body into KFZE kfze Performance & General Maintenance 30 10-04-2006 04:28 PM


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 02:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
2001- 2010 AstinaGT